Expedia Reviews | Expedia.com

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Click Star to Rate This Site:
Rating: 1.7/5 (313 votes cast)
Expedia unpublished rate hotels
  • Free Expedia “Thank You: Rewards Network” – Earn 1 point for every $1 that you spend with Expedia.  100 points = $1 of redeemable currency for travel
  • Expedia coupon codes and extreme deals on last-minute hotels and flights where prices change rapidly
  • Unpublished Rate Hotels – Save up to 50% on hotels when you book now and get the name of the hotel later
  • Expedia “Trip Assist” application for the iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch – With the Expedia Trip Assist app, you can get free real-time flight status updates for any flight and book travel directly from your phone or mobile device
  • Expedia “Elite Plus” – Member’s-only club for Expedia’s “best customers“. To qualify as a member, you must stay 15 hotel nights or book $10,000 worth of travel from Expedia within 1 year. Benefits include “Priority Customer Service”, exclusive travel deals.  Expedia previously waived change & cancellation fees for their Elite Plus members, but this has apparently gone by the wayside
  • Expedia Insider’s Select - Their “ultimate list” of the world’s best hotels and resorts
  • Expedia “Package Protection”- Coverage for service fees on Expedia’s flights, hotels, cars and activities in the event you change or cancel a trip cost generally ranges from $49 to $89 per person
Our Editor’s Review:
The way Expedia rates their hotels is more comprehensive than other sites, and we really like that.  We also love the Expedia “Insider’s Select” hotel listing, because you can enter in the city that you are traveling to and it will instantly provide a list of the best rated hotels. Expedia does not base this list solely on customer ratings (like many other travel sites). Rather, they take an objective approach in rating hotels and “consider a wide array of factors, including ratings from independent ratings systems, media recognition, and post-trip surveys of our customers“. You can read just the customer reviews on the “Insider’s Direct” page as well. After you find the best rated hotel in your budget, you can easily book it right there on the page. Remember to go back and write your own hotel review after your trip, because these websites need your input! Expedia claims that 99.85% of their customers are satisfied with their experience.  However, we found online complaints from customers claiming that their Expedia reservations were cancelled, even after Expedia claimed that their reservation was “guaranteed”.  These rampant complaints have caused many to lose their trust in Expedia and there are entire websites dedicated to declaring Expedia a scam. Here on TravelSiteCritic.com, we’ve gotten more customer complaints about Expedia, relative to the competition.  We caution you to confirm all reservations directly with the airlines, hotels, and cruise lines prior to departure. This is also Expedia’s own advice, “All flights should be confirmed with the airline directly. We recommend that you do so at least 24 hours prior to departure for domestic flights (72 hours for flights to Hawaii and international destinations)“.  Also, be aware that Expedia cannot guarantee that your flight seat requests will be honored by the airline, “On certain flights, the airline will allow Expedia to request seats on your behalf (via our Seat Pinpointer tool), but these are only requests, and need to be verified with the airline“. We do not feel that Expedia is a scam based on a few online complaints, because they still seem few and far between. Keep in mind that most people who have good experiences with Expedia are not going to go out and leave positive comments on forums and create websites called “ExpediaIsAwesome.com“.  Rather, it’s angry customers with bad experiences that make their voices heard on the internet. Expedia is one of the largest online travel agencies, so there are bound to be complaints, and that is likely why the number of them may seem excessive. Just use caution, and confirm everything before you go. We recommend that you do this no matter who you book with.
Expedia Fees and Policies*:
  • $0 change fee by Expedia on “flights” or “hotels”. (Be aware that the variable “booking fee” is not refundable, and airlines typically will charge you for changes).
  • $50 charge by Expedia to change a booked “vacation package”, plus any fees charged by the suppliers. (Unless you purchase Package Protection).
  • Booking fees vary, and are disclosed when you make the purchase. “Vacation Packages” usually cannot be cancelled.
  • If a booked flight allows changes, but is non-refundable, you will generally have 12 months from the time the ticket was booked (not cancelled) to rebook the flight.   You still need to pay any cancellation fees imposed by the airline and the new ticket must be with the same airline and for the same passenger.
  • If you cancel hotels or properties, they can only be cancelled pursuant to the hotel’s policy. The hotel may charge a penalty.
*Based solely on research done by TravelSiteCritic.com, these figures may be inaccurate and are subject to change.Verify policies with Expedia before you book. Please be aware of airfare taxes & fees, applicable to any booking that includes airfare.
Expedia Coupon Codes & Deals *:
Expedia.com Customer Reviews:
Have you used Expedia.com and have an experience to share? We want to hear it! Add your own review of Expedia in the customer comment box below. All customer reviews and comments are moderated by a human being and will be posted LIVE on TravelSiteCritic.com as soon as they have been reviewed by a moderation team member. Thank you for contributing to our great community here and on Facebook!
Expedia.com Customer Ratings:
Cast your vote for the Best Rated Travel Sites by clicking one of the dynamic rating stars for Expedia.com below, or on any of our travel website reviews. Cast a vote of 1-star, 5-star, or anything in between. A user rating of 1-star indicates you had a horrible experience (its the lowest you can go and brings down the total rating), while a user rating of 5-stars indicates you had the best experience. The travel websites with the most 5-star votes end up on our Top 10 List. ________________________________________________ Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the post above are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Read our review disclosure for more information. Please be aware of airfare taxes & fees.
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Click Star to Rate This Site:
Rating: 1.7/5 (313 votes cast)
Expedia Reviews | Expedia.com, 1.7 out of 5 based on 313 ratings

Comments

  1. Kevin says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Simply do not use Expedia. I regret using it. I booked a flight through them and due to certain reasons had to cancel it. Call Expedia for a refund. Wait time to speak to a customer service was 48 minutes. After that all they told me was to call the airlines to get my refund. Call airline. Airline told me to call back Expedia. Called back Expedia, was on the phone for another hour just for a simple ticket refund. Customer service at Expedia is something that you don’t want to deal with. Phone prompt is confusing and doesn’t recognize simple voice commands. Very unsatisfying experience. Use another travel site.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  2. Elizabeth D says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    The charge for a refund flight on Expedia is anywhere from $50 – 200 for each ticket, which is what an Expedia sales associate told me. Apparently there’s no rhyme or reason to how that fee is calculated or applied. Sales associate told us it would be $150 to change flights for my fiance and myself each, but she could not for the life of her tell us how the fee was calculated or what it will be used for. $300 is more than the cost of a round trip flight for us. Needless to say, won’t be booking with Expedia again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  3. Catherine says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I had a terrible experience with Expedia! I’ve worked with them before and they were good. It’s been a while since I traveled, but based on my previous experiences, I trusted Expedia. They have changed! This is what happened: I am planning a vacation in the UK and I wanted to stay in London for 2 nights. I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at Tune Hotel – Paddington. Later that day I found out Expedia over charged me by $229, plus, Expedia charged a $25 fee for each room each night. The Tune Hotel website charged less. So, I thought I would take advantage of the “Best Price Guarantee”. I called them up and my booking matched all the criteria accept the Tune website did not covert British Pounds to US Dollars. They would not cancel my booking either. So, I’m out $229! Travelers beware! Expedia wants to rip you off! Never book a hotel with them without researching your choice thoroughly before hand! Then, my advice is to make sure you can cancel the booking for a full refund just in case!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  4. Shawn says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    Don’t waste your time. Expedia’s website showed flights we were interested in but would not let us book at the listed prices. Customer service was unable to help and said the prices had changed but a new search would still list the original low prices. We wasted an entire morning with them. Don’t bother with Expedia.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  5. David Dawson says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Do not use Expedia. I booked a car rental through them. When my flight was delayed, I was unable to change the pickup time on the Expedia website, and Expedia did not pick up my call or return my call after I left a message. The end story was that the rental company did not hold the car after 2 hours, and I had to rent from another outfit at the airport – late at night on a holiday – at a cost of $520 more than the Expedia reservation. The rental company – Advantage – also gets a black eye for telling me they would hold the car but didn’t. Expedia’s only answer is to give me a $50 credit on my next reservation through them — which I will not even try to use. (I see from other messages they don’t honor these anyway.)
    On top of all that, every time I’ve asked why the car wasn’t held, I get a different story. The last explanation from Expedia was that the car I was supposed to get wasn’t returned on schedule. But this is not what three different people at Advantage told me. And even if this was true, why should I be out $520?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  6. Dennis Whitmyer says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (4 votes cast)

    NEVER, EVER have I been through such a convoluted process of trying to use a credit for a cancelled flight with Expedia. After 9 hours and 17 Expedia agents (the call center is in the Phillipines and no one has a grasp of the English language) – I was still unable to use the Expedia credit. I firmly believe it is designed to be this way. I will NEVER use Expedia again for anything. I have never encountered so much ineptness in my life. They do not even have a number to call for help….amazing

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +7 (from 11 votes)
  7. Pamela Jones says:
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Gigi— this is why I also don’t generally recommend booking hotels on third-party aggregator sites, because of problems like what you experienced. I wrote an article explaining how to avoid this in the future at http://travelsitecritic.com/reviews/articles/book-hotel-direct/

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Gigi says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.5/5 (2 votes cast)

    I booked a one-night stay in Budapest through Expedia. I looked at my credit card bill, and noticed they’d charged about $25 over the room rate of $140 per night. My itinerary and credit card bill didn’t make clear how much of this $25 was taxes, or fees, or what. Nowhere on Expedia’s site does it make clear what their fees are; although it does say in their Terms of Service that they charge “service fees,” you won’t know how much the fees are until after you’ve booked. I called Expedia, talked to one of their offshorre phone flunkies, and then waited on hold for another 10 minutes to talk to Offshore Phone Flunkie Supervisor, and neither one could or would tell me exactly what “service charges” they charged for letting me use their website to make my own travel arrangements. I figured out that after Budapest city tax of 4%, the Expedia charges amounted to about 14% of my room rate.

    Best to use Expedia and Tripadvisor to look up information about a hotel, then make your reservations directly YOURSELF. Don’t go through these third-party aggregator sites; they are a ripoff and their customer service is clueless.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  9. Julie says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.5/5 (2 votes cast)

    Do Not Use Expedia. They never issued the airline tickets for my return flight. I contacted the airline and they confirmed my seat assignments, but when I got to the airport the tickets had never actually been issued, stranding me and my family. Expedia did get us new tickets after three hours on the phone but it was for a red eye and left us in the airport for nine hours with a one year old and a four hour layover at 4am. Needless to say not what you want on the way home from vacation. After mentioning the situation to other people they all had comments of Expedia saying the hotel or airline reservations were confirmed by Expedia but the travelers come to find out Expedia never actually contacted the hotel or airline to put in the reservation. Not something you need on vacation. Now I will leave a positive review of things I experience to promote good customer service so I thought I would leave this review to comment on horrible customer service.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  10. Jeff Stonecash says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I booked a hotel through Expedia and was told it was a deal at 92 per night. When I got the bill it was 44 a night. Expedia was charging twice as much as the hotel and said the hotel made a mistake in divulging that. Expedia would make no adjustment. I suggest avoiding them entirely. What fraud.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Jan says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Will NEVER use Expedia again. All is well unless you have to make a change. Beware of the Vacation Waiver that is supposed to protect you from charges due to a change or canellation. When they are actually selling you a non-refundable ticket from the airline in which case you lose the entire cost of the ticket, no changes, no credits, no refunds. SCAM

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 6 votes)
  12. Jamie says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    The Expedia price “guarantee” is a complete scam. I will NEVER use Expedia again! We went traveling through Yellowstone and booked two separate hotel rooms in two different cities; one through Expedia and one thorough Price Line. I booked hotels rooms a week before our arrival through both. When I arrived at both hotels (White Water Inn in Montana and the other was Hot Springs Inn in Wyoming), they both were actually charging less than what I had booked the rooms for. Of course Expedia had already charged me and now they refuse to match the price that the hotel charges. So I paid more to Expedia to stay at the hotel than if I had just booked directly through the hotel itself. The second hotel also charged less but the way Price Line works, you just pay the hotel directly so I was only charged for actually what the hotel charges. I would really recommend avoiding Expedia; apparently there is no reason to even use them.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  13. L Williams says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    We have used Expedia many times for airfare, packages and just hotels and car rentals, with our most recent trip 2 weeks ago…So far have never encountered a problem with them…Everything went fine with our recent trip to Jamaica.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  14. Viraj Deshpande says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I had booked a ticket on Expedia from SEA to PVR about 3 months prior to travel date. When I purchased a ticket i saw it said “Price Match Guaranteed”… so even though Bing.com/Travel showed me that price can drop i went ahead and purchased the ticket.

    Now today i see the prices have gone down $50 per ticket (i.e. $150 total for 3 tickets). And when i called up Expedia customer care they said the price drop has to be within 48 Hrs after the purchase!!!! Which is just ridiculous policy!! Things don’t stop just there… Expedia’s customer service representative had commited to give $100 coupon to me and then we discussed the terms of how to use this coupon as in package only and etc…

    When i checekd online after @ just 10 min of conversation with Expedia’s representative and found that only $50 has been applied. Then i again called up customer care and second representative told me that they are not allowed to give more than $50 coupon. I don’t think i will go back to Expedia anymore after!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  15. Jennifer says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Expedia does not support the Low price guarantee. I called 6/11/12 and talked to a Tyrone and I was trying to book a hotel and I told him their price of $419 on Expedia was a lot higher than the price listed on the Hotels website which was $335, he looked it up and verified it then said he can book it for that price and told me the total being charged to my card wich would be $394 I also had a $50 reward so he added that to my account so then he confirmed the total would be $342. I saw my account statemnet and the email Expedia sent me and they charged me $436. I was upset. So I called and talked to April the next day and she told me she couldn’t refund the difference because the rate changed due to a different day; I had explained that it was not my fault that they unethically over charged me when Tyrone verified the price online the other day and of course it’s a different day and the price will change. So I cancelled it. I talked to the manager and they gave me a $100 coupon for the trouble. So now I’m trying to use the coupon and the lady helping me out has put me on hold several times to help me but total time right now with Expedia and still counting is 3 hours and 52 minutes.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  16. Jenn says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (4 votes cast)

    I booked a trip to Disneyland in Feb. of 2012 on one of the ‘deals’ Expedia had online. It was a terrific deal and I got exactly what I paid for. Their voucher system was flawless with the suppliers too. I didn’t have to explain anything to the shuttle people at the airport, the hotel, or the parks at Disney. The thing I did, which may have made my experience so good, is confirm with the hotel and the airline my purchase. I do that with every travel booking I’ve made, even if I’ve gone directly. I just like to be 100% sure my requests are in, my reservation was made, and the dates correct/members of my party. I especially do that when I book online because I don’t trust every transaction online. I had to call Expedia directly to ask for a detail confirmation and the service was excellent. I would use them again and plan on it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  17. Claire says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    I accidntally missed my flight and tried to call expedia see what I can do.They told me to call my ariline to cancel the flight, when I called my airline, they said I need to call expedia back to get refund back, so I called back to Expedia. This lady asked my itinerary number but somehow she pulled another person’s information out, she told me put on hold and will transfer me to the booking expert, but then she couldn’t get a hold of the expert so she told me she will talk to her supervisor about my situation. She put me on hold for a long time and came back asked me if I am flying from Korea to Taipei, I told her I am flying from Los Angeles to Beijing, and connect the flight form Beijing to Taipei, not from Korea.
    She asked me where was I, I told her I currently in Brea, LA county, USA. She asked me again if I am flying from Korea, I said no. Then she said she will talk to her supervisor again, so she put me on hold one more time, then finally she came back said she will transfer me to the booking expert. I had been put on hold for almost an hour and probably only talked to the CSR for 5 minutes. This time the agent pulled out the correct information and problem was resolved within 10 minutes. What I am trying to say is that I should not have wasted so much minutes over the phone for a simple problem, I was charged for over minutes by calling Expedia.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  18. Rajasekar says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I booked a hotel in naivasha, Kenya in the last minute, through Expedia. I promptly recieved an e-mail from them after online credit card payment. Blissfully I took a cab from Nairobi to reach the hotel (forest lodge). The site information never mentioned how far away this hotel was— It was 40 Km from Naivasha. So I reach the place by god’s grace (no sign posts, no road). When I hand in my e-confirmation at 5 in the evening, I am told that they recieved an e-mail from Expedia that there was no validation of credit card payment and that I have to make the payment again (+15% extra to be paid to expedia)— ( I had no way of knowing what the truth was) & 1 week since the travel, I havent recieved any mail from expedia not a whisper, not an apology.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  19. Claire says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    I booked my flight to Taiwan on Expedia, but then accidently missed the flight. So I called Expedia and the female receptionist asked my intinerary number and name, but pulled out another person’s information, I was confused and yet the lady who served me was not aware that she has made a mistake. The lady kept putting me on hold to talk to her supervisor. But the problem was resolved at last after an hour on the phone with Expedia. I just wish that the customer service reps could be more aware of the customer’s situation.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  20. Andrea says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I booked a hotel online at Expedia.com and had given my cc information and was told there was a problem processing the request and to try again. So I pushed the try again button. I rec’d a text letting me know my card had been charged. I was right outside of the hotel so I go inside. The front desk person tells me I have booked the room twice, just then I receive another text letting me know another charge for the room had been charged to my card. The hotel guy cancelled the second reservation but was unable to refund my money. He told me that Expedia had to do the refund. I called Expedia and was told it was a preauthorization hold; this is incorrect information given to me. He told me to call back and speak to the credit department and I have been trying to do this since 3/9/2012, today is 3/10/2012 and have been unsuccessful. Sitting on hold for 40 minutes with Expedia the first time. I called Expedia back and was disconnected from 3 different representatives. Lesssoned learned I just want my money back where I was doubled charged and I will use Priceline like I usually do.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  21. steve says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (3 votes cast)

    Have used Expedia for last few years but am changing to another provider or booking directly as Expedia has an INDIA call center and everytime I try to get information on my flight, rooms etc. the accent is so bad I can’t understand what the person is saying. Also, Expedia’s seat pin pointer where you can request seats is generally not working when you book although it works on other sites I check after not being able to select a seat.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 7 votes)
  22. melissa crow says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (3 votes cast)

    I am very disgruntled with Expedia. I searched for a disney hotel online. The headlide popped up Hotels IN Disney World! I proceeded to book a hotel and paid in full over $1,100 only to discover that the hotel I booked was not a Disney affilliated hotel. I’m dealing with customer service for over an hour on hold. I have 3 kids and this is a once in a lifetime vacation for us. I have been saving for 6 years, now my kids dream vacation is ruined….Thanks alot Expedia

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 10 votes)
  23. speedstan says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I redeemed 29,000 Expedia points for a $300 Expedia travel coupon, and used $144 for a hotel reservation. A few weeks later, I tried to use the balance but nothing was indicated as available in my account. Upon calling Expedia customer service, I was informed that the balance was no longer available. This was in spite of wording that advised me that the $300 was “deposited to my account”, which to any reasonable individual suggested that the funds could be drawn off as needed. This is clearly deceptive, and along with the discovery that Expedia is marking rooms ABOVE the going hotel rates has influenced me to no longer use their services.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  24. Charles E. Weber says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (3 votes cast)

    Do not go by Expedia’s advertisement lowest fare guarantee. Only suggesting legal action was I able to get ticket money back for my step daughter at no charge. They do not honor what they print as Hotwire was cheaper. I found out they are sister sites. Expedia is a bait and switch site. Stay clear of their guarantees.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  25. susan says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Expedia’s customer service is horrendous! After being a loyal customer for many years I will never use Expedia for my travel needs again. That is a decision after spending almost 6 hours on hold! I had a room booked for $260 a night for 2 nights that on the hotel’s own webpage was only $216 a night! After confirming the deal, but keepng me on hold for so long to fix a mistake that the first Expedia customer service operator made the site seemed to be sold out when the operator clicked through to the final page, this was of course hours later! When I got off the phone and called the hotel direct of course the deal was still available. The best rate guarantee is a waste of 6 hours and no deal at all. NO THANK YOU EXPEDIA!!!!! After tax $499 compared to expedia $587

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  26. Ashley says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    This will be my second time using Expedia. So far so good. I signed up for the Citi card and was able to book that same day without any problems. They offer the option to choose your seats and it clearly says on the itinerary “Seat assignments and meal preferences must be confirmed with the airline; we cannot guarantee that they will be honored.” It is not in small print or anything, so I am guessing some people just arn’t reading. When I went to pay for the trip the price did go up, so I had the option of paying the extra or not taking the trip at all. I thought that was weird, but it only went up a couple dollars so I continued. My trip is still 3 months away, I hope I don’t encounter any problems that others have.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 6 votes)
  27. Farah Dar says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.3/5 (4 votes cast)

    Booked a reservation on Expedia.com. After I entered travelers info and credit card info, the website changed the dates saying they have found an even cheaper rate! Once I picked up on the change of dates, I called and the only option I had was to cancel my tickets. In addition I had $150 per ticket penalty. Beware the Expedia website is tricky and customer service is horrible!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 7 votes)
  28. Jon says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Expedia excels at “poor customer service”, hours on the phone, $300 in change fees for an expedia mistake, $50 travel voucher for my troubles.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  29. Warren says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Expedia does not book your seat on the flight. Be careful.

    I booked a 15-hours direct flight with Expedia three months ahead with the choice of an aisle seat (not the preferred seat that requires extra cost or fly miles). It was quick and simply “DONE” so I thought but only to find out when check-in online. Expedia reserved the flight with no assigned seat; have to choose the remaining seats available. I was sandwiched between two big guys and I am large as well. This is the reason why I book ahead when most seats are available. Furthermore, you cannot upgrade seat with fly miles due to the Expedia ticket has all the restrictions in order to qualify the lowest buy-in price. In another word you are stuck and the only option is to pay $100 UDS upgrade for the exit role with extra leg room.

    Expedia only emails your request of seat choice to the airline but it is entirely up to the discretion of the company to reward such. Since the ticket had the restriction above and the airline will not bother to do anything. Expedia simply go through the motion with no result. This is how I found the situation mentioned above.

    Expedia mislead their customers on this matter. If this concerns you, it is best to book with others that that confirm your seat at the time of booking. Hope this reminder will benefit others not to repeat my mistake. It was the most gruesome 15-hours of my life while on that plane. Happy travel everyone.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 8 votes)
  30. VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I looked up the Expedia Citi Credit Card offer as described in the post below. I do find it odd that Expedia does not explain why some are “Instantly Authorized” and others take 14 days. I presume this has something to do with credit ratings. However, the Expedia website states that if you are one of the lucky people who is “instantly authorized”, they will give you card number for instant use:


    1. If you are Instantly Authorized – you will have a temporary credit line that you can use immediately to book your travel at Expedia…
    2. If you are not Instantly Authorized – your account will not be available for immediate use. In this case, your card should arrive in the mail within 14 days.

    Further reading the small print on Expedia… I see that this credit from Expedia is not valid if you book a rental car alone, a cruise, or non-Expedia special rate hotels. If you need to book a vacation package sooner than 14 days, I don’t see this as a good offer from Expedia. But if you are planning a trip a few months in advance, this may be a good way to get a $50 credit. The Expedia Elite Level Card offers $100 credit.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  31. douglas newton says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    The Expedia Citi credit card offer on their website currently (9/8/11) is a SCAM. The offer says apply for a credit card now and then book your reservation with it. You will receive a $50 credit off the ticket price on your card statement. The scam is that the card, even if approved “for immediate use” cannot be used either online or by spending a couple of hours dealing with Expedia by telephone for use the day it is issued. Calling Citi bank, I am told that it cannot be used until it arrives in the mail in 1-2 weeks.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  32. Allison says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    I booked a flight through Expedia. When I showed up at the airport, the airline told me Expedia sold me a flight that never existed. After a headache-induced phone call, I received a full refund. However that did not amount to much. To still make my trip, I had to purchase a next-day airfare costing twice as much. I lost a day of vacation, too.

    I only recommend Expedia to my worst enemies!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  33. jim says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    I used Expedia for years without any problem: until the first time I needed to change a flight. I’d read the policy and fully expeced to pay a $200 penalty and any INCREASE in the new flight. I’d paid $755 for a ticket, and at the time I needed to change it to a later date, there were numerous flights available for $610. However, after over 2 hours on the phone, I was told that to change, I’d have to pay an ADDITIONAL $1200. During that time, I was given various stories which would take pages to recount, but bottom line, I was ripped off by expedia.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 6 votes)
  34. Annie says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    Expedia has the absolute worst customer service. The Expedia representatives are unknowledgeable and I have been on the phone with them (not including wait time to have my calls answered) 21 minutes, 58 minutes, and currently over 1.5 hours.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 6 votes)
  35. Pem says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)

    I state up front that I’ve always been a loyal Expedia user, but recently when I booked a flight to Shanghai, I discovered almost immediately that the airline Expedia found for me was selling tickets at almost half the price.

    I immediately called customer service, and though nobody was able to pick up the first 3 times, someone finally picked up when I called later that day. The lady checked the prices and after putting me on hold on and off to talk to her supervisor (around 20 minutes) she then told me that Expedia will refund the difference (almost 400$) and gave me the 50$ coupon.

    I’m very pleased with Expedia. Will definitely book in the future

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 6 votes)
  36. Todd W says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Expedia’s Total Pricing
    Unlike some other online travel sites that show you a low cheap discount for your car rental when you’re shopping and then heap on taxes and fees when it comes time to pay, Expedia shows you the final price up front. What you see is what you pay.

    This is not true. I was charged an Airport Fee by the rental FOX Rental Car Co. Expedia does not stand behind anything they promise.

    Also, their hotel reviews are reviewed and not approved if it is not positive. I stayed a a promoted hotel via Expedia. It was terrible, but they will not post the review stating there were specifics.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  37. Steven says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I use Expedia to browse vacation packages and hotels etc.. I do a thorough check using that, Tripadvisor and the hotel website.
    Sometimes it’s the things that the hotel itself publishes that are misleading and Expedia have clearly stated that this is based on the hotel’s own words and Expedia haven’t assessed it or been there. There’s this ‘themes’ feature now which I exceptionally like as it gives a gist of what to expect. As the review said, it’s extremely thorough!

    Last year we booked a trip from Cairo to Toronto only to realise that we needed to move our dates due to a personal issue. Fine, I called customer service and at first, they were going to charge me about $1500, then the line went down, so I called again and spent an hour talking to an extremely helpful woman from customer service who spoke to the hotels and everything and did it all courteously, which meant our non-refundable, non-transferable booking was moved as it exactly was to 3 weeks later as we conveniently needed it to be. Later on, when choosing flight seats, none of our requests made by Expedia were honoured due to plane changes with Air Canada and most of the other customer service people, I found were rather unfriendly – time of day I suppose? No idea yet.

    I still generally like Expedia, most errors were quite easily resolved but I still don’t understand why no flights can be found to Greece on Expedia.com and Expedia.ca but can be found on Expedia.co.uk from the same departure and destinations?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  38. Non-flight changer says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I’m in need of a cheap ticket to Canada and trying to check reviews on sites before getting tickets. Seems to me that most of the unsatisfied consumer are those who changed their flight or cancelled their flight. Maybe a few with credit card problem, anyone can verify if it’s safe to use?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  39. Mad Consumer says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.8/5 (5 votes cast)

    I booked a vacation to Vietnam through the Expedia website. Payed for it through my credit card. When the itinerary came back,the departure and return dates were reversed. I called 1-800-EXPEDIA, to notify them of the mistake. After cycling through 3 customer service representatives for over an hour, they finally said that there was nothing they can do for me because it was my mistake and not theirs. All Expedia offered were platitudes like, “I understand your frustrations sir, but unfortunately this is a non-refundable ticket.” Alas the ONLY viable offer was to reverse the departure and return dates through issuing a new ticket, charging me $800 for the cost of the difference in the tickets and a $200 service fee, for a total of $1000! In other words, I had to pay an additional $1000 for my ticket. The topper was the Expedia customer service woman who treated the additional $1000 as if it were a mere $10 service fee, ended our telephone chat by asking me if she could HELP me with anything else. As if she was ever helpful at any point in the whole conversation. The experience was completely unreal.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  40. Ken says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.5/5 (4 votes cast)

    I used Expedia and I’ve heard things so I thought “maybe I’ll be the exception”. I guess I was wrong.

    I booked a trip to Orlando Walt Disney World through Expedia because of a deal they have on the hotel, which is a lot cheaper. However when I call the hotel or disney world they couldnt give me a confirmation that my hotel was booked. I called Expedia, they tell me to contact the hotel; I called the hotel they tell me to contact disney; and Disney tell me to call Expedia. I think what wrong with Expedia is all they do is to fax your booking to the hotel and the airlines. They do not personally follow through these procedures. If you really want to book through them, make sure you call the airlines, the hotel and the car rental to make sure an arrangement was made.

    To my surprise some of the customer service staff are very nice, especially the ones at night (probably because they’re less busy), and when I send my email to them, they always reply me within a day. The flight was booked about 10 minutes after I hit the confirm button, so thats another plus.

    In short, if you want to skip the headaches, just book directly. Why risk hundreds or thousands of dollars or even your trip just to save that $50 dollar on dining?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  41. mark williamson says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.3/5 (7 votes cast)

    DO NOT USE EXPEDIA. I was charged $60 more for booking my vacation over the phone vs. online (which they said was the same price), then they screwed up my reservation and instead of giving my infant a seperate seat (which I paid for!), he had to sit on our lap.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  42. Jeronnimo says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    It happened to me when i tried to book flight from the airline directly. I think it depends on the airline. I used aerosvit airlines, the prices doubled. First you have to wait for a confirmation code on you cell, you never receive it, they keep telling you i should try later, so when i finally get i pay the price of two tickets.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  43. Jeronnimo says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.4/5 (5 votes cast)

    I’m not an expedia agent:)
    Before I booked my tickets to Kazakhstan from NYC I thoroughly read all the Expedia reviews and I was ready to deal with the most awful company. The thing is I had to cancel my flight twice. First time they returned money within 48 hours, the 2nd time they promised to return money within 2-3 weeks, I had no hope to receive it but got it back in 2 weeks. You may believe it or not, but I’m happy. Employees were polite. The flight was cheap but it was what I was looking for after all … Had bad experience with Singapore Airlines and connection flight in Borispol airport though, but there isn’t expedia’s fault.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 7 votes)
  44. Zalupa says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (4 votes cast)

    -small stinky rooms (I tried two). Bed was dirty. The picture they posted has nothing to do with the actual room they checked me in.
    -no free high speed internet as advertised (20 euros per day).
    -”free wi-fi” they advertised is provided for 1 hour a day only and it is very slow Internet, if you want faster the only option is to buy a card 20 Euros /24h.
    -lousy interior, far from being renovated as advertised.
    -noisy (busy street and Gare Du Nord train station is right across the street).
    I checked in and checked out in 30 minutes after I went upstairs to see my room and the Internet connection(slow one) which did not work. I work over the internet so I can’t afford wi-fi not working so I checked out.
    Even that was Expedia’s fault and misrepresentation they charged me for 1 night stay. I went out and found another 3 star Hotel 50 meters away. Kyriad hotel is 2 star.
    By the way, there are lots of cheaper hotels within 200meters around this stinky dirty hole.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  45. LISA says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.6/5 (5 votes cast)

    I completely agreed because I am dealing with the EXACT same issue…..They’ll put you on mute for about 15 min hoping that you will hang up and then music comes on which is when the rep actually now place you on hold and after another good 15 min..A supervisor comes on the line telling some BOLD FACE LIES…your issues does not get resolved…THIS IS MY LAST VACATION PACKAGE THROUGH EXPEDIA. I AM DONE WITH THEM..SAVE YOURSELF PEOPLE!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 8 votes)
  46. D.S. Aldridge says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.4/5 (5 votes cast)

    Booked a motel and car through Expedia. I got both, and was assured that I could use my debit card with no problem for the car rental. They got the car rental wrong, and made me call Avis myself to fix it. No one, not Expedia or Avis told me that I had to have a credit check to rent the car, or I would not have done it. When I got there and refused to let them do a credit check, they would not rent me the car, forcing me to cancel my trip and cancel my motel reservation. Expedia charged me a $58 motel cancellation charge, which was their fault since I was forced to cancel it due to their incompetency. Their customer service gladly refunded the car insurance I had purchased, but said they could not refund the cancellation charge because it was “already charged to my account”. They offered me a $50 credit to my Expedia account…like I would ever use Expedia again! I’ve put in a complaint and called the corporate office in Bellevue, Washington.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  47. Karen says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.4/5 (5 votes cast)

    Expedia’s customer service would not help me after they made a mistake and booked a different room than was promised. I was promised a hotel with a restaurant and did a search for three people. What I got was a hotel with one bed and no restaurant out in the middle of nowhere. It was supposed to be a brand name hotel but not. Called Expedia customer service about 10 times to rectify and they would not help, or even slightly admit that the error was theirs. Not customer friendly at all. Just want your money and then you are on your own.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  48. Juan says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.4/5 (5 votes cast)

    I tried to help out a neighbor that was not computer savy and could not speak English very well by booking a flight on Expedia for his wife and son who were traveling to Dayton, Oh. for a family funeral. After they decided on the time and date the flight was booked at a bargain price. After it was paid for we realized that the return flight had the wrong month (Beware:Their calendar month shifts when trying to select dates so that when you try to correct it, they charge you a $150 change fee per ticket). We knew about the No refund policy, and the $150 per ticket change fee, but not about the same airline only policy which forced a $1000 price hike in order to guarantee a seat. I wonder how many times Expedia does this and how much profit it makes from people who simply made typo errors while booking flights. Now I look real bad to my neighbors and I feel like a guilty fool. Expedia used to be an honest company. What happened?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 6 votes)
  49. Rosemary Colliver says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (4 votes cast)

    The Expedia Unpublished Rate service is a SCAM. They state that the savings are “up to 50%” but that the hotel name cannot be disclosed until after the non-refundable purchase beacuse the rate is so low that if the hotel’s name were disclosed prior to the purchase it would interfere with the hotel’s relationships with its other vendors and customers. This is BS! The rate I got was $1.00 a day lower than the regular expedia rate, and higher than and equal to the rates available for the same hotel through Orbitz, Travelocity and even booking direct with the hotel (where the booking would be cancelable if needed). When I contacted customer service to complain… I received what appears to be Expedia’s only response to any and all complaints (from all reviews I have read) – “oh well, sorry about that. We can give you a (small) credit on Expedia” – LIKE I WILL EVER USE THEM AGAIN!!! I travel 6-10 times per year, domestic and international, Expedia has the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 6 votes)
  50. Erina says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    I booked two business class tickets on Expedia.com and when I was clicking on ‘purchase button’ it says: Price Change: The total price for your trip has changed from $1,636.00 to $736.00. ‘Why did this happen?’ . I clicked to check on ‘Why did this happen?’ it says because of the fluctuation of price, and the tickets registered were still on business class. So I went ahead and purchased them. Minutes later the email sent to me mentioned the tickets were economy class. I called the CSR at Expedia, talked to two persons who referred me to others, and I literally was on hold for one hour. When they finally picked it up, the call was dropped. Six hours later, still no CSR available to pick up my phone! What a lousy service. If nobody is available they should have said, ‘call at certain hours etc’ but it says it is 24 hr service. If I canceled the trip online, surely they will charge me $200 per tickets, which is unfair because it’s not my fault. If only I could reach a CSR I would have been this disappointed!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 6 votes)
  51. Celestina Tillie says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (6 votes cast)

    Thanks to Expedia, I saved a lot of money. I recommend it to everyone.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 10 votes)
  52. Denise says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    My daughter booked a roundtrip international flight 5 months in advance on Expedia.com. There were 3 plane changes on the depart and 3 on the return. A flight got changed/cancelled before she left and she spent almost 3hours on the phone to get it fixed. A week before her return I asked her to make sure all was still good with her flights. She had a flight to Philidelphia and a flight from Chicago…but no flight to get her from Phi to Chicago! The itinerary just did not have anything on it! We rec’d no messages not nothing from them. I called Expedia, waited 42 minutes on hold for a human, got one from India(or in that hemisphere anyway) was on the phone a total of 133 minutes arguing that they could not just leave her in Phi. I got, sorry the ticket is used, you must call the airline, sorry we cannot help you, you must call the airline. So I ask What airline? I don’t have one? The flights were all different carriers??? how in the world did I know who dropped her? I refused to get off the line, I refused to let them think this was a problem I had to try and figure out. Finally, the man said he would call “the airline”. He got me a new confirmation code that never worked; but magically the original one did have a flight on it after 24 hours. Then I told my daughter to make sure she tried to get a seat assigned on this flight as soon as possible. Well, of course there were none that she could book because she was not a “preferred member” of the airline. So, I ended up paying an additional seat fee to guarantee her a spot. And to make it all end up so happily..they lost her checked bag on the last leg..but they did find it 24 hours later! I will never use Expedia again..

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 7 votes)
  53. Philippe says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    Expedia Hot Deals are not Brand Names at great prices – they are Hovels and not in a guaranteed location – the deal is a scam! I booked an Expedia Hot Deal hotel – where they only tell you the name after you’ve booked, but gaurantee a certain area and that it is a “brand name” hotel.
    After I paid I got pictures of the hotel – it looked dirty, cheap and not somewhere I would pay money to stay.
    When we arrived at the hotel we were told that they didn’t have a room for us, that they would never sell a room so cheap, they knew nothing about the “hot deals” and we were offered an alternative room at another hovel which was miles away. I asked if we could get a refund they said that was fine.
    We went and booked into the holiday inn (which was lovely but pricey as we hadn’t booked in advance).
    I contacted Expedia to check the refund would be going through.
    The lady said we wouldn’t get a refund as they never promised it would be a brand name (you can check their website where it still says brand name!!). She flatly refused to give us a refund and lied about everything.
    I’m not sure where to go with this now, other than getting a solicitor involved.
    I definitely wouldn’t consider using their hot deals again, and will be using a different company to book hotels in future.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  54. gene says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    When I tried to cancel an Expedia hotel booking, I found that each time you have to speak with a supervisor. They switch you and you are left on hold for very long periods and then disconnected. After 5 times I just demanded a cancellation number and email showing it was canceled and when they said I have to switch you to a supervisor I said no. I will not talk to a supervisor. I said it already has been canceled now give me the cancellation number. They went in and said it wasn’t canceled and finally agreed to cancel it.
    It was canceled as Expedia offered a room with a King for $79 but then input it as a full size bed. When I called back they said there was no way I could get a king bed for $79.00. I told them I already have the king for $79.00, that their records are incorrect. I figure the original offer of the King was to get me in and charged and then after the fact they switch it. When I questioned that, Expedia customer support stated they were sorry they did that to me but had no remorse what so ever for having done that. Expedia has made it impossible to reach anyone at the state of Washington corporate headquarters I suspect they don’t receive bait and switch complaints.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  55. marc says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    Expedia is one of my online agent partners, as hotelier, I would say the website is by far less than desirable partner. Their operation team for hotels are not fully efficient. If I may point out to you travelers, either contact your local reliable agents or other alternate websites. There are plenty. Expedia takes money from you saying they are not refundable, and on the other end they claim for hotels to pay for your alternate offers. Scam or not? You are the judge.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 6 votes)
  56. mer says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    Expedia did even worse to us. We booked six flights with Expedia to Mexico on Mexicana in June. They notified us in July that there had been changes to our flights, so we changed the flights with them due to the fact that one of our family members is handicapped and could not endure the long delay incurred by these changes. Today I just happened to check the flights for the end of this month and all of the reservations were gone! Expedia had changed our flights correctly to AA, but never confirmed them. If they had notified us by August we could have contacted American and made the changes without penalty ourselves! Now, we are out over $2,000 in airline fees and Expedia refuses to acknowledge their responsibility. They also told us to contact the airlines ourselves. We spoke to at least six managers and all were rude jerks. We have contacted the Better Business Bureau and filed a complaint. We encourage others to do the same.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
  57. AngryatExpedia says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    I called Expedia this morning to check my policy to see if I could cancel my hotel without cancelling my airfare. They confirmed that I could indeed cancel my hotel and get a $220 refund without disrupting my flight arrangements. So I booked an apartment in another area through another agency, received the confirmation, and then called Expedia to cancel the hotel. It was at that point that a new Expedia agent told me that I couldn’t cancel the hotel without cancelling the airfare, and the airfare was non-refundable! The subsequent chain of customer service reps were completely unhelpful, and the supervisor at the Expedia Corporate office was condescending and discourteous. If the package is nonrefundable, then Expedia should make sure their customer service representatives communicate that information to consumers. If Expedia’s agents misinform the buyer, they shouldn’t be surprised when we are a bit frustrated that we are now forced to pay for another person’s oversight.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 8 votes)
  58. joefritz says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.5/5 (2 votes cast)

    I’ve been using expedia to book a flight with no problem. but recently I booked a flight and one connecting flight has been cancelled. I called expedia many times to confirm the replacement flight. but they failed to give me an alternate flight. instead, they want me to call directly the airlines to complain or confirm the cancelled connecting flight. This is very stessful, I paid expedia for the flight and they should be the one to answer any complaints and they should take care of any cancelled or missing flights.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 7 votes)
  59. VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    Excellent comment, Bunny. You are right that most people don’t blog about their good experiences, and smart for seeing the forest through the trees.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -5 (from 9 votes)
  60. Bunny says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    For those of you who are impatient, here’s how I felt overall:

    My trip was great, I will use Expedia again.

    For those of you who want all the nitty gritty details:

    I was thoroughly worried before I booked my trip with Expedia.ca, since all of the online rating seems to say that Expedia is a nightmare to deal with. For that I do not doubt, because their call center is so busy that if you wish to contact them, you better set aside an hour or two to be put on hold for. Anyway, rather than giving you what I think, I just want to share my story in bullet form (you be the judge):

    - I am a cheapo (because I am no millionaire)
    - 1st time booking a trip online
    - 1st time going to Japan
    - Minimal knowledge of Japanese (I survived with a dictionary!)
    - Travelling with family
    - …and I am the planner (could you imagine if I screwed up?)

    Summary: Hotel + Flight Combo from Expedia.ca satisfies my cheapo howls
    Scared – $5000 at stake (this is my 10 years saving)
    No return – foreign country + 0 language skills + screw up =
    $5,000 short and dismayed family

    My greatest fear was that I paid and show up at the airport / hotel and no booking was made and I am left stranded and family gives me a howl on how dreadful the trip was.

    What did I do?
    - called up all of my friends and family who used online booking
    - emailed Expedia.ca for a verification of situations
    - called Expedia.ca AND voice record all of our conversation

    Outcome of contacts:
    - friends and family: they are good, try to avoid changing or cancelling trips (plan ahead in other words), always confirm your booking with the hotel and airlines
    - emailed Expedia.ca: asked them about if the price and availability fluctuates after I paid in full
    never got an answer back (probably because I used all legal talks)
    - called Expedia.ca: scared the cr*p out of me because I had to wait on the phone for an hour
    people don’t speak English very well and are a bit grumpy. They said changes are made based on the service provider (if they ever need to charge more or less than posted)

    Alright, by this time, I was ready to cry because I didn’t know what to do. I hated how I had to wait on the line for a customer rep to pick up just to get a grumpy person answering (I’ve worked at a call centre, so I do know how it feels to have customer yelling at you for 8 hours on end). They gave me the answer though. If the prices change, it’s not their fault, but you can confirm with the hotel and airline you have the bookings with.

    I went whining to my boyfriend about how confused I felt (he is a super careful person when it comes to purchases). He said like how you would confirm and reconfirm even with reputable hotels, just do that and everything should be okay.

    That is exactly what I did. I asked Expedia how long it would take before I can confirm hotel and airline bookings after I have paid in full. Here’s what Expedia said, once payment has been received in full:
    - hotels are booked immediately
    - airlines booking are processed within 24 hours

    The staff kindly explained to me that hotel bookings are done online, that is why it is immediate. Airline bookings are done within 24 hours because of how each airline handle their processing. I didn’t really care, but good to know why.

    I decided to wait 24 hours before contacting both the hotel and the airline, so I can do both in one sitting. Both the hotel and the airline confirmed by booking in less than 5 minutes on the call. I also made special requests to the airline for vegetarian meals and the hotel for a specific floor level to sleep at. From both places, I also asked for an email confirmation so I now have 2 sets of paper on hand: expedia confirmation of payment and hotel and airline confirmation emails.

    About a week before my trip, I emailed the hotel again to confirm my booking and advise them of my arrival time. I also made a final confirmation with the airline regarding my meal request.

    A day before my trip, I printed out my e-ticket with Air Canada and completed my online check-in.

    The result? My luggage check at the airport took literally 1 minute. Airplane meals were as I requested them to be. My room was ready to my request (with a nice view of the Government Building and the city scape).

    It was an addictive trip that my family wants to do again because of how hassle free it is (of course, they did not see how much research I have put into this).

    All in all =) Thank you to Expedia.ca, you saved me enough money to buy meals and lots of goodies at the price of what a guided tour would charge me without even spending a dime in Japan.

    I know, some of you might think I am hired by Expedia.ca to speak good of it. Quite frankly, being the geek that I am, I even tried to trace IPs and everything when I was in my research stage. No matter what I say, it may still seem fake to you. I felt better after I thought about the psychology of people on blogs:
    - how often do you get out of a restaurant / service happy and say.. hmm I’ll blog about it?
    - do people really tell you what they did not check or did not do when they rant? (I understand, service sector should serve perfectly, but as a good ‘boss’ we need to do our checking, too, right?)

    Anyway, I will stop showing off now. For those of you who suffered from Expedia.ca, I am sorry to hear about that. I know my situation was rather simplistic with no changes to plans etc and I understand how freakin’ angry I got when I waited on the phone for 1 hour each time I called (I called 3 times by the way… I learned to just put it on speaker phone and do chores while waiting for a person to pick up).

    For those who want to try Expedia.ca… Rule of thumb for using their service:
    1. Make sure you are NOT likely to have to make changes to your plans
    2. Make sure you have time to do confirming and reconfirming
    3. Be prepared to wait on the line for at least an hour when you call the expedia call center (=D and watch a Harry Potter DVD meanwhile you wait? Sorry, a bit of a geeky side of me.)
    4. Expedia reps are not lawyers =( don’t do what I did and word your question in completely policially correct terms… (I scared the cr*p out of the first rep who answered my call and he froze… ended up not being able to answer my questions at all)

    Last but not least, Happy Travelling!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 12 votes)
  61. John Judge says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    Ah Expedia… I booked two previous trips with no hitch.. but the most recent one is already on it’s 4th set of airline seats. The best part is the people from India who call and read from a script for 3 minutes before reading you your entire itinerary instead of just telling you what is going to change!!! Thanks so much!! Then they don’t email you a copy!! and if you call? You get to spend 30+ minutes on hold to speak (haha) a person who doesn’t speak english, understand english, doesn’t help, won’t give you a supervisor!! I think I will be booking my trips elsewhere, anything has to be better!!! Now Expedia tells me I have to CALL them to get them to EMAIL me a copy of MY itinerary. Seriously?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 13 votes)
  62. Mary says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (4 votes cast)

    I booked 4 airline tickets on Expedia on a Sunday. Recieved a confirmation from them same day. But received an email message the next day saying they couldn’t confirm the tickets afterall. Called the number i was told to call to discuss the problem, waited on hold for 20 minutes, told tickets would cost $100 more than price quoted on your site the day before (and was still quoted at the time I made the phone call). I could have purchased the tickets directly from the airline for this same increased price the day before and avoided spending the additional time dealing with it the next day. I see no reason to use expedia again — cost me more in time than just dealing with airline and with no savings in cost of the tickets. Bait and switch tactics are no way to run a business if you want customers to return.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 7 votes)
  63. Shawn says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    My fiancee booked our honeymoon with expedia. It was suppose to be a cruise from ft. lauderdale to the bahamas. We were going a day early to tour ft. lauderdale and stay in a hotel for one night. Unfortunately booking doesn’t work that way. When you book a hotel with your flight expedia’s system defaults the return date to your hotel checkout date. We were booked on a 3 day cruise with plane tickets for one day. We attempted to change the return date and was advised expedia’s I.T. team had to change it because there system would not process the request. Also there was a $150 change fee per ticket associated with the request. To make matters worst the return tickets were over $700 more than we initially paid. We went on priceline to purchase return tickets and the same exact flight expedia was charging $840 for was only $90. We also called US Airways and they advised us even with the cancellation insurance we cannot cancel or modify our flight. What confused me about US Airways is there customer service is out sourced to India. Why call yourself US Airways if your company operates in India? Expedia and US via India Airways is a rip off!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 8 votes)
  64. Cheryl Brunelle says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.4/5 (5 votes cast)

    What a ripoff Expedia is. Booked a Carnival Cruise in Feb. 2010 at early saver rate for Nov. 2010. Expedia took my deposit at time of booking. Rest was to be due later. No one contacted us though Expedia claimed they sent 2 e-mails. Our cruise was cancelled. We had to re-book and pay more. Expedia customer service is horrible, they take no responsibility and are rude when talking to you…have never dealt with anything like it before. Never again!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 8 votes)
  65. Donna says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    We cancelled air tickets on Expedia. I called a few months later to verify the re-booking window and was told by the Expedia rep that we needed to re-book within 12 months of the original issue date but could travel within 12 months of the ticket date. When I called to do this, I was informed that I had to travel before the 12 month issue date. Expedia deleted my itinerary, hung up on me 3 times after I was on hold for up to 30 minutes and did not respond to my email explaining the situation and asking for an equitable solution.
    Bottom line, we lost the entire value $680.00 for our tickets.
    I will never use Expedia again. Why have representatives if you are unwilling to take responsibility for their errors?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
  66. expedia cruises says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    With the Expedia Trip Assist app, you can get free real-time flight status updates for any flight and book travel directly from your phone or mobile device.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -3 (from 7 votes)
  67. ILOVEExpedia says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.2/5 (6 votes cast)

    Ah Expedia. I love it. They are experts, don’t you know? Who else would take your money, give you wrong information, and leave you stranded at a hotel that doesn’t have you booked? Who else can make you wish you could have booked direct, even if you paid more $$$? And who else, after having this happen to you, would refuse to give you your money back after obvious mistakes from Expedia? They also happen to be professional bulls**tters. Once they pull the “It’s not our fault, it’s the airlines/hotels/car rental/your fault” speech, you know, deep in your heart that they care so much about you. They do, and to prove it, they will give you a credit, about 1/4 of your ticket price, to use their services again! It’s like giving your money to the school bully and getting beat up, only to have the bully apologize to you by throwing you a few nickels on you. Then he kicks you.
    Ah Expedia. You stay classy. We all love you so much, we’re going to use you again and again. Because we are the customers, and we’re gluttons for… well, you know.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 11 votes)
  68. Sara J says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Yes, I’m wondering about this too! I’m about to book one of these Expedia ‘unpublished’ rate hotels, but am worried that I’m going to get ripped off. I guess it’s fairly new, because I can’t find reviews of it online anywhere yet. Anyone done this? Did it work out for you?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -3 (from 5 votes)
  69. NEVER book Expedia says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.2/5 (5 votes cast)

    Before the return journey of a recent trip I tried to check in online to save time at the airport. The airline had no record of my flight and when I went to expedia.co.uk where I booked it I got an “Internal Message” error and had to call customer services.

    THERE WAS NO RETURN FLIGHT BOOKED FOR ME EVEN THOUGH I HAD WRITTEN CONFIRMATION FROM EXPEDIA THAT MY FLIGHT WAS BOOKED. The Expedia agent on the phone explained that after I changed part of my trip, Expedia attempted to charge my credit card the change fee. When my card was declined, Expedia said they emailed me back to let me know and that I never responded. I checked my inbox carefully, my spam email and my deleted items and there was no sign of this alleged email from Expedia letting my know my flight was not confirmed.

    When I asked to speak to the Expedia manager about this I was told there wasn’t a manager available. I then asked the Expedia agent to pass a message onto their manager that I’d never book with Expedia again and would be leaving a review of my booking experience. Expedia refused to take responsibility and reaffirmed that everything Expedia had done “had followed protocol”.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +8 (from 10 votes)
  70. Ruth says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    We just came back from a trip to Quebec City and booked a cruise trip with Expedia that turned out to be an embarrassment.
    The Quebec City Evening Cruise was not what we expected and we are not fully satisfied. The activity specifically mentions a dinner. It turns out that what the cruise actually offers are sandwich and chips. SANDWICH AND CHIPS FOR DINNER!!! Please. That should have been disclosed by Expedia in advance. WE WERE NOT EXPECTING A SANDWICH, LET ALONE CHIPS, AS THE DINNER. It turns out that we had to sit in the dining room with other folks who had booked a 5-course meal. The maitre noticed our disappointment and offered to give us the main course of the meal (and nothing else) in exchange for the sandwiches. Adding insult to injury, he repeatedly came with what he called the leftovers: appetizers and salads and offered them to our children (who by that time, 8:30 PM were very hungry and we could not reject them). Having to endure the humiliation of watching how others were well treated was too much for my husband, who was very upset by the whole experience.

    Expedia should clearly state what is offered as a dinner in this activity, and possibly offer the 5-course meal option so that your customers are spared this humiliation.

    After I submitted complaint to Expedia and got three emails back and called but guess what? after almost an hour phone conversation an Expedia customer representative made me feel like I was making all this up!!!! because she said she talked with the cruise folks already and said “everything that night ran smoothly like any other night”.
    My suggestion: Book with a different carrier next time.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  71. Jill says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (3 votes cast)

    I was just curious if anyone has tried out Expedia’s unknown hotel until you book because its 55% off deal. Im scared to try it out, because I dont want to be stuck in a hotel or a deal that I cant get out of, and then in return have a terrible trip.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  72. Fran DiChiaro says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.8/5 (6 votes cast)

    My husband and I, plus my sister-in-law and her husband, my daughter and her family of 5, and 4 others , all booked our Mediterrannean cruise with Expedia cruises and Expedia travel for our hotel and air reservations. Not one of us had a problem. All personnel were professional and very helpful. I would use them again without question. Thanks Expedia i give them 5 stars!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 9 votes)
  73. Emma says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.2/5 (5 votes cast)

    This website and its customer service depart are morons and thieves. First and foremost, do not even attempt to book with them, especially if they are going to give you Hertz for car rental.
    Hertz does not even recognize the car insurance waiver that this stupid website offers – which based on the package is cheaper than an average fee would be. Of course, you would not know that AFTER the fact you are already in front of the counter getting your damned rental. At first, Hertz will innocently tell you that they do not see that LDW on the reservation, thinking STUPID EXPEDIA, so when they asked you if you want to add, of course you would say YES, duh, its was part of the package you got, and BAM, they charge you almost $30/day for the LDW when you were only charged $9/day on EXPEDIA. You need the car to get to the hotel so you can contact EXPEDIA. And of course, Hertz will also tell you that the charges can be corrected once the issue has been resolved. Hertz billing said “Cannot help because the billing is not yet in the system because I still have the car.” Also was told for the second time, the bill will be corrected AFTER the issue has been resolved and AFTER I returned the car. I called EXPEDIA to help me with this issue. Thinking this lady at customer service knows what she was doing, I was very patient with her. I was wrong. She transferred me to HERTZ RESERVATION. How can they help me? That’s reservation! She even transferred me to the wrong department much less to the wrong company. So now I’m stuck with $90 bill for LDW from Expedia and $355.00 from HERTZ! Next thing to do will be contacting the BBB in Florida and Atty General.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 6 votes)
  74. karthik says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    This feedback is regarding Itinerary 132194306358. I booked a rental car with ACE as requested by the representative at expedia. My flight and hotel for this trip were also booked by expedia. My return flight was booked at 6 30 AM in the morning. The rep told me that ACE rental company was open 24 hours and hence i can return the car anytime. But after reaching Miami,when i approached the ACE rental company they told me that they open at 6 Am in the morning. As i could not return the car at 6 AM I had to cancel the contract. But since the ACE company charged my credit card, i was not able to use it to book other rental cars and had to spend whole night at airport waiting for ACE to open to reverse the charged on my Credit card. When contacted expedia at midnight the response from one of the supervisors for very bad. She started raising her voice and said that she could not help. This is a very bad experience with expedia and i ended up paying double charges for booking last minute car.
    People at expedia work only for commission and not for customers. They can not be trusted and never have faith on them to help you in difficult situations.They do not know about the partners they are working with. Pathetic situation!!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  75. Expedia stranded me and my family in Mexico says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    All I can say at this point is that I will never go through expedia again and don’t recommend that anyone else does either. Our is a cautionary tells of what happen when you use expedia when traveling outside the country.

    This happen to me last week when I went Mexico with my family. There were five of us my boyfriend, my 18 years old sister, and my two cousins. I paid 5 adult airfare and hotel package through Expedia. Everything was going fine until we got the hotel where they said that expedia only booked for 4 adult and 1 infant child for us. If the 5th person were to stay with us we will need to pay $600 more. The hotel said that if we can get expedia to send them an update itinerary stating that we paid for 5 adults they will not make us pay the extra money.

    So what did expedia do when we call them:

    Call one, cost $38 usd, we were on hold for 30 minutes and expedia hang-up on us.

    Call two, cost $62 usd, we were on hold for 1 hour and expedia hang up on us. Before she hang up on us, the rep promises to contact the hotel. We check with the hotel and they said expedia never got in contact with them.

    Call three, cost $45 usd, we were on hold for 45 minutes and expedia hang up on us. He too before he hang up on us, the rep promises to contact the hotel. Once again we check with the hotel and they said expedia never got in contact with them.

    Call four, cost $0.0, we call using Skype it took 10 minutes because the rep hang-up when we told him we were on Skype.

    Email 1, we ask for expedia help they tell us they can’t help us that we need to call them.

    Email 2, we tell expedia that every time calls the rep hang-up on us. We got one of those we are sorry that this is happening to you but we can’t help you that goes something like:

    “Expedia.com goes to great lengths to supply our clients with the information and opportunity to make well-informed travel purchases, and we are more than willing to assist our clients in any way commercially possible. We at Expedia are dedicated to providing knowledgeable service and support to our clients, but we are constrained by the policies of the vendors whose services we provide on our website. When a flight itinerary or hotel itinerary is purchased on Expedia.com, we act as the agent between the client and the vendor. Any transactions are governed by the rules and restrictions put in place by the vendor providing the service. Nevertheless, please be assured that your complaints have been duly noted”

    Does not help us much when you we were stranded in a foreign country do it now?

    When we got back to the US we call expedia to tell them what happen, their executive rep tell us it’s our fault after I was hold for 2 hours to talk to her. I told her, yes I should have read the itinerary more closely then I would have known that the hotel part was listing my sister as an infant child. I try to tell her that we paid for 5 adults that we flew down on Jet Blue with five adult why would be then turn one of the adult into an infant child. If she only check she would see that we paid for 5 adults, but her respond was that the itinerary clearly state 5 adult flew down and 4 adult and one infant child for the hotel. If we were have five adult staying at the hotel then the hotel should charge us for the extra person. I told her to check here record again, we paid for five adult, and she follows with the itinerary said 4 adult and 1 infant child. You can see how this went right? A few round of this I got frustrated and hang-up on her.

    Needless to say I have over eight hours of my life and paid $745 in addition to what I paid expedia for this trip.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 8 votes)
  76. Vishal says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.8/5 (4 votes cast)

    DO NOT TRUST EXPEDIA. If you ever have to cancel a flight, they will immediately take off 25% for their own profits, despite having a million warnings everywhere that they have reduced fees (which are BS). Then, if you do not book with the exact same airline within an arbitrary period that expedia defines, they will take the remaining 75% for themselves, WITH NO WARNINGS. I would highly recommend finding another site to conduct your business. F- rating.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 9 votes)
  77. VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    Ashley, keep in mind that the Expedia website says there are restrictions to this and that you still need to pay airline cancellation fees and penalties, which can be steep. You would need to pay cancellation fees and penalties to the airline even if you booked directly with them. One airline that offers refundable fares is Jet Blue Airways, as an option on the booking screen select “refundable fares”. http://travelsitecritic.com/reviews/1/jet-blue/

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 9 votes)
  78. VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    I’m glad to hear that if you cancel your flight, you can use the funds toward another flight within a year.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 8 votes)
  79. Mike says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.8/5 (8 votes cast)

    I used Expedia for many years and everything was more or less ok. There prices were rather competitive (not always though). They stored mine and my family members’ info, so it helped to expedite the booking. Several times prices jumped when I tried to book a flight but it used to happen during the booking process before I hit the “Buy” button and I had a choice either to go with a higher price or just drop the whole thing. But yesterday I had a really bad experience. A day before I booked a flight for $922 and received email with travel confirmation from Expedia that included a receipt for that amount. When the next day I went to the Expedia site to print out my itinerary I was astounded to see that the booking price was $1172 ($250 increase). When I contacted their customer service they gave me some strange explanation that included something about the airline, the ticket pricing, etc. What they failed to explain to me is how can I rely on their advertized prices that make my decision to buy from them if they can change prices after booking. Very bad and unacceptable business practice.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 10 votes)

Speak Your Mind

*


*

CHECK HERE! To subscribe to the Travel Site Critic email newsletter, full of travel coupon codes and deals!

Copyright © 2008-2014 - All Rights Reserved © TravelSiteCritic.com - Travel Site Critic | Travel Website Reviews, Ratings and Deals

Top 10 Travel Sites | Travel Website Reviews |  Travel Website DealsTravel Deal Newsletter | Travel Deal Widget for your Website | About usFAQ | Reviews Disclosure | Privacy Policy

* TravelSiteCritic.com does not sell travel and is not a travel agency, we simply promote travel deals and provide you with reviews of and links to 3rd Party Travel Agency Websites (aka. Advertisers). Information about fees and prices on this website come from 3rd Party Travel Agency Websites, and does not include baggage fees and may not include applicable taxes, charges, fees, and government imposed fees. TravelSiteCritic.com is a marketing affiliate of many of the 3rd party travel companies (aka. Advertisers) that we review and/or place links to. Simply put, we may earn commissions for marketing their products and services. Most of the outgoing links on this website are termed “affiliate advertising links.” This means, if you click on the link and complete a purchase, TravelSiteCritic.com may receive a commission from the Advertiser. See our Reviews Disclosure for more information.