Airfare.com Reviews

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Click Star to Rate This Site:
Rating: 1.8/5 (142 votes cast)

Airfare.com Reviews

Airfare.com is an online travel agency for flights and hotels.  They claim to offer savings of up to 70% OFF of retail airline ticket prices with 14 million unpublished airfares.

USER EXPERIENCE

The Airfare.com website is simple to use, uncluttered, and easy to navigate.

PRICING

Unfortunately, we are not overly impressed with the prices on Airfare.com.  Saving “70% off airline tickets” is a pretty impressive thing to boast!   We tested the prices on Airfare.com against those found on Kayak.com.  In our search testing, Airfare.com never came out ahead of pricng found on Kayak.  We are disappointed that Airfare.com did not exceed our expectations, or even meet them for that matter. Airfare.com claims that “wholesale discount prices are not available to every city. You will find that these rates are predominantly available in international markets out of major US cities“.   However, when searching international flights from major US cities we found no discount.  It would be helpful if Airfare.com disclosed which cities they have negotiated wholesale rates and published a list of deals.  Airfare.com does not provide a price-match or Best Price Guarantee.  They also do not offer coupon codes, senior discounts or military discounts.  For airfare coupon codes, senior and military discounts, we recommend CheapoAir.
Roundtrip Flights - $150 or Less Save $15* with Promo Code TRAVEL15 Book Now!

FEES

Airfare.com charges a booking fee that you would not pay if you booked directly with the airline.  The amount of their booking fee is not clearly stated (i.e. we couldn’t find it).  All airline tickets booked on Airfare.com are non-refundable after the day that you book it.  We highly recommend purchasing trip insurance that offers “cancellation for any reason” coverage.  The change an airline ticket, expect to pay a $200 to $350 change fee, plus any applicable increase in airfare.  Their cancellation policy for hotel bookings is not stellar either.  If you cancel more than 7 days before your trip, you will pay the cost of the first hotel night + a 4% credit card fee.  If it is less than a week before your trip, your hotel booking is non-refundable.  We urge you to book your hotel directly on the hotel’s own website to avoid expensive cancellation policies such as this.

REPUTATION

Airfare.com ranks #2 as the travel website with the most customer complaints here on TravelSiteCritic.com (SmartFares is leading in complaints).  Customer complaints can be addressed to them at cs@airfare.com.

UNIQUENESS

Airfare.com has a free “Preferred Access” club which allegedly gives you exclusive access to airfare deals that are not published on Airfare.com’s website.  To join Preferred Access, we were required to provide our full name, phone number, email and mailing address, which seemed really intrusive.  We chose the log-in with Facebook option instead.  Our test search came up with the same airfare prices as before we joined the club.  So, the pricing did not seem exclusive.  Perhaps if they offered a “Member Only” discount page with a list of specific unpublished airfares we would be more impressed.
 
Reviews Disclosure: Some of the links on this website are affiliate links. This means if you click on the link and purchase an item, I receive an affiliate commission. It doesn’t cost you more money & supports our work on this website. Thank you! Read our reviews disclosure for more info. ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Click Star to Rate This Site:
Rating: 1.8/5 (142 votes cast)
Airfare.com Reviews, 1.8 out of 5 based on 142 ratings

Comments

  1. Liam says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com gave me the worst experience with a travel website I have ever encountered. I went abroad for four months and during my time realized I needed to change my return flight. The airfare.com staff made it almost impossible to change my ticket, with forms that needed to be printed and faxed back to them or scanned and emailed back to them neither of which I had at my disposal. They are “conveniently” only open from 9-5 in the US so if you are abroad and are asleep during that period you will find yourself dealing with a call center in the middle east or asia where the english spoken is poor and the employees are not helpful. Do Not use airfare.com the savings are not worth the hassle.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  2. Diana says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I am relocating to Europe and purchased my ticket through Airfare.com with Scandinavian Airlines (SAS), because I am relocating, I have to take my dog with me. After booking the ticket, SAS informed me that they cannot accommodate my dog for the second part of my trip (Copenhagen to destination) and that I should change my flight to September 25, when they had enough room to accommodate both me and my dog.

    I know it’s Airfare.com’s rule that they don’t handle pet issues, so all I asked of them was to change my flight to September 25. They first ignored my request (sent through phone and email) and when someone finally called me, told me they can not make the change because it didn’t show in their system. But Airfare.com did not handle my request for change for almost a week, so I decided to just cancel my flight since no one was taking care of my request. So I again called Airfare.com and emailed them to cancel my trip. I had previously purchased insurance on the ticket through Travel Guard (on Airfare.com website) – which did not specify at the time of purchase that clients are only covered on health and natural disaster issues. They kept repeating that my ticket was non-refundable. I called them back to ask to speak to a manager and they gave me a faulty extension to enter to get to someone; then I called again to ask for the contact information for the President of the company and in response, the representative asked me what is my nationality and why do I need this information. When I proceeded to ask him what was the relevance of my nationality to the conversation, he hung up.

    Even if I am to have to take the bullet and pay for the whole thing, I will make sure everyone knows how poor customer service Airfare.com has; that their tickets are non-refundable and that the insurance provider that is advertised on their website is a scam.

    If you look at their homepage on the Airfare.com website you will notice that even their address is misspelled “Washingtion” – should be a first flag to warn people off about how “professional” they are.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  3. Sofya says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I had the worse experience ever with airfare.com. People who work there are absolutely unprofessional. Also, they lie and try to charge you as much as possible. In my case, the change fee was $350 (when the airlines charges only $20), also they doubled the no show up fee. I would highly recomment to avoid airfare.com for any business.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Kate says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I had to change the date of a flight and found airfare.com to be pretty unresponsive. I didn’t receive any response to my e-mails, even to their special online reservation changing service, and had to call several times. The people in customer service were very polite but not all were able to communicate clearly in English, and only one made any attempt to actually resolve my request, and they are very sluggish in responding to changes in personal information, even when you provide it to them in several forms. My request has still not been completely resolved by airfare.com, even after a week of nagging. Good thing I started early. In addition, their flight change fee is significantly higher than many of these kinds of services. If you are spending a lot on international travel and need to book well in advance and may need to change your flight date down the road, go with cheaptickets instead.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  5. dispute it with.. says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Why are you guys calling airfare.com? Just call your credit card issuer and dispute all charges.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  6. RS of California says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I booked a flight through airfare.com. AA changed one of my flights such that it became extremely inconvenient to use (extra 3 hours waiting in LAX in a trip that was 20 hours long to start with) so I requested cancellation of the flight so that I could book alternative, more convenient flight. airfare.com demanded $30 for the cancellation and promised a refund within 4-6 weeks. So far – ok. Four weeks into the process I sent an email to airfare.com to check on the process – received a reply that they will check and get back to me – and then – NOTHING. Now, 8 weeks after the process started I still haven’t received my money from airfare.com. I emailed – no response. I called – and talked to someone, quite rude, on the other side of the world, telling me that they sent yesterday an email to the airline to check – and that I should simply wait. Trying to figure my recourse at this point – don’t want to lose $1400!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  7. Stan Sokolov says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Enough said! People are absolutely right that airfare.com is charging $35 for paper tickets they are not intended to deliver. This is an outright scam. Airfare.com knows that no tickets are going to be sent but it still charges $35. Shame to Kayak for referring to Airfare.com. Kayak should know better that Airfare.com are crooks.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  8. i2hateairfarecom says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    We wanted to purchase 3 international tickets for close to $4000. Kayak referred us to airfare.com with the best price at the time. We filled their online form as per directions but when we got the confirmation email back our first & middle names were run together making the names to mismatch with the passports. I promptly called the “customer service” to let them know that airfare.com system has our first & middle names together. They told me that I’ll have to rebook but have to pay $300 per passenger to cancel the current booking first. They haven’t even made the booking with the airline yet, but they were trying to get $900 dollars out of us for their mistakes. I threaten to report airfare.com to our state’s attorney general’s office and the consumer protection bureau. After that they became so nice.

    Then I was told that they’ll give me “the best possible price” for the tickets that I’m looking for. Then they offered me different quotes with time/date/route changes with “the best” price. In my haste I agreed to one reservation that they made; paid for the tickets. After realizing that I should not have trusted airfare.com AGAIN I went online to check ticket prices and found the exact same reservation for $375 less directly from the airline. I made a big mistake; learned the lesson.

    There’s a $35 charge on the reservation for paper tickets. I asked them about that from airfare.com “customer service”. I was told that I should get the paper tickets in the mail in about a week. After waiting 3 weeks I contacted them. There’s no response. So I contacted the airlines. Both the airlines involved told me that there’s no paper tickets anymore. Everything’s done electronically now. So then I realized that airfare.com has robbed me again.

    I know $35 is not much but I intend to go after airfare.com for false charges. I don’t know how airfare.com can even stay in business after actions like what I have experienced with them. I’ll NEVER buy anything from them.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  9. fls says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    AIRFARE.COM IS VERY SHADY. I would even venture to say fraudulent. They took money from our account and confirmed our tickets then continued to try to take more money. They kept calling stating problem with the payment. But I had confirmed with the bank it was paid. When we went to check in, I learned ticket was voided. The calls to Airfare.com customer service were met with long hold times and agents that were very hard to understand.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  10. question_mark says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I planned to go to africa this summer, and saw an unbelievable price on Airfare.com. I thought the price was too good to be true, then I looked up the reviews. I saw that many people had complained about Airfare.com, so I decided to call them and talk to them. When I called, I was talking to a guy who barely knew English. I told him that I was interested in booking an international flight, but I am concerned about their reputation because most of the review sites had bad ratings. He switched me to another agent, I repeated myself, then the guy, (also barely speaking English) was obviously reading from a script. Nevertheless, he told me that Airfare.com was registered at the better business bureau. So I go to the BBB, and the rating for Airfare.com is a C, and it is not accredited with the BBB. I called back and stated this and was put on hold for a very long time. Then when I was taken off hold, the guy started asking for my flight departure and arrival dates, totally neglecting my claims regarding the BBB. Then I asked him again about the BBB, and his priceless response was “thank you for calling Airfare.com, if you have any questions regarding information about us, please visit Airfare.com ” … thats when I hung up!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  11. airfare.com worst service ever says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    We booked tickets through Airfare.com after Kayak shows it as lowest price. Now we have to reschedule them to different dates and Airfare.com has such horrible customer service that even after 3 days of request, still no action. One of the travellers is an infant who does not have a ticket, they still want to charge for it. Every agent tells a different story on how to change dates and it just adds to the stress of travelling. I am not sure if we will even end up with the tickets. Not worth at all. Airfare.com also charged us extra for paper tickets and those never arrived, when I called I was told that the policy changed and now they issues etickets. I will never use them again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. Finley says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com is terrible. Do not purchase from them. Worst customer experience ever. Increased stress level is not worth the nominal discount in price…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  13. Airfaredotcomstinks says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Airfare.com is absolutely the worst business to deal with, my experience with them and their customer service was horrible. I would highly recommend choosing another way to purchase air tickets.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  14. Michael Dodd says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Absolutely one of the worst experiences I have had in all my years of flying. I was unable to check in for my flight to Manila PI, unable to get Airfare.com to reissue the ticket as the airline requested, and their customer service is by far the worst I have ever experienced. They keep you on hold for an hour plus then you mysteriously get hung up on. When you call back you have to start all over with the issue to only have it happen again. Maybe this is their way of handling customers issues but Airfare.com is ABSOLUTELY one website I will never use again. Almost $4,000.00 for tickets and I can not get answers. Travelers beware,, STAY AWAY from Airfare.com.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  15. Ray says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    I bought tickets from LAX to Amman, Jordan through Airfare.com, and everything worked out fine. I was one of those that bought the tickets, then realized the reviews were terrible. So I did get very nervous. BUT, when I checked with the airlines, they confirmed the reservations. The trip was a big success, and I had absolutely no trouble with my tickets.

    I will say, however, that I did not have to call Airfare.com customer service, so I am not able to say anything about that. But when it came to paying a really low price for roundtrip tickets, Airfare.com came through no problem!

    Just my two cents.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  16. VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    In regards to the comment about Airfare.com below, I did find Airfare.com’s cancellation policy here.

    In the future, I highly recommend the purchase of travel cancellation insurance from a company like SquareMouth: http://travelsitecritic.com/reviews/1-2/squaremouth/

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  17. Airfare.com-sucks says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    I just tried to cancel a ticket I bought for my father due to his declining health and purchased travel insurance for him in his name as well. After speaking with the insurance co. on how to go about the process, they told me I need to cancel the flight with the airline. Since I purchased through a “2nd party” (Airfare.com), the airline told me they could not help me and it must be done through Airfare.com. Airfare.com then wanted to charge me a $150 “processing fee” to call the airline to cancel and get the medical papers from them. I asked where on their website do they mention this and tried to say it was the airline that was charging them this fee. They also could not tell me where it was stated on their website that they charge $150 because it’s NOT THERE. All it says is that the tickets are non-refundable. I would think there is some law that says you must disclose these fees….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  18. Theairfarecomistheworse says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    A nightmare experience in dealing w/ Airfare.com. The worst travel agency! Avoid by all means!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  19. Kristen says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Avoid Airefare.com. It is worth paying a little more and booking through someone reputable, like expedia.com.
    My family’s trip to Egypt got cancelled because of the civil unrest, and when I tried to cancel our plane tickets with airfare.com, they gave me a horrible time. They have bad customer service. I was hung up upon, I asked to speak to a manager 5 times and was denied, I received an email from a manager, replied, and waited. Two weeks later I called the manager directly and he told me not to call him back, but to email him. When I said I did, he told me that the email he sent was not from his “real” address and he had never gotten my email.
    Long story short, after begging for weeks, and extra paperwork, I got refunded my $2,400 in airfare, but only after they charged me $400 in fees.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  20. Ramesh says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com seems to be a low website only, but when you try to book any of their “low” prices the price always adjusts to some higher number. Their customer service tells me that the airlines sometimes change the price. So, I tried again, and the “low” I selected magically went up when I tried to book a ticket. Airfare.com is horrible site. Avoid it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  21. Michael says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com is nothing short of a scam operation. My son and his girl friend booked “a good deal” ticket from Miami to Buenos Aires Argentina…The 5 am flight form Miami with TAM was pushed to 8 am…When it was time to board the plane, my son and his friend were told that …while the final destination was Buenos Aires…there was a stop in , in the middle of the jungle..in Manaus (Brazil)…and since Manaus has no International facilities…they needed a Brazilian visa for the few hours stop over…and they got kicked out of the flight. They called Airfare.farce…only to get the run around…My son called me and I called Airfare.farce and a certain Andy (probably not his real name) who started to give a song and dance on how they are not responsible for anything…Did not try to be customer service oriented …on how we can help the passengers from Miami to Buenos Aires…This is just happening and the moral of the story is that my son and his friend just got a lesson they will not forget….when a deal is too good….Shady operations like Airfare.com with zero customer service attitude (and aptitude) should not be allowed to operate their “service” business..Travelers beware of Airfare.com!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  22. A Davis says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    airfare.com customer service was horrible. Lied to us numerous times and said tickets were NONREFUNDABLE, but the major carrier cancelled and refunded the tickets (with a fee) upon our direct request. Worth going through any other company to avoid the hassle. Of course we were not going to fly to Japan after earthquakes, tsunami, and radiation!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  23. Cederico says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Worst experience of our lives. Applied for 2 tickets and started getting calls from Airfare.com asking for all kinds of personal information in order to process the charges on our credit card. Smelling a rat, we asked to cancel the charges which were still pending but they went ahead and charged us anyway. They said that they would be sending us paper tickets in the mail – who still does this??? Sorry, but this is a SHADY OPERATION… Do not use them.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  24. Diana Doughtie says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com issued us paper tickets that were not valid. The flight to Tel Aviv proceeded smoothly but on the return El Al refused to use the ticket (issued through Air Canada) as they do not have an agreement with them. We would have been stranded in Israel and forced to buy another ticket but Swiss Air and El Al Personnel were fabulous and helped. I would never use Airfare.com again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  25. Chris says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com ruined my plans to go to Spain and Morocco. They don’t confirm any flights. You think you’re ready to go and get all the confirmation emails and flight information but what they plan to do is call you back and tell you the airline screwed it up and the flight is more then what you thought. I waited 2 weeks to get my paper tickets and then realized they never booked it!! I want to strangle someone at Airfare.com now!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  26. Ryan says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Dealing with Airfare.com has been the WORST experience of my life. They are a scam and won’t do anything to help you once they have your money. Save yourself the aggravation and purchase from someone else. They didn’t inform me that my flight required paper tickets and then sent them to the wrong address. After hours and hours on the phone with incompetent tools my issue is till unresolved.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  27. FG says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Avoid AirFare.com like the plague if you value your money, your time and your sanity.
    AirFare.com’s lack of professionalism was appalling and I eventually canceled my booking with them entirely. When they finally realized that they couldn’t deliver the flight I booked, or a replacement for it, they finally offered to refund the cost of the booking – but with a delay of 6 weeks! This is $6,500 mind you, so in order to book another flight (separately) I had to come up with another almost 7K in short order. Do not waste your time with them.
    They consistently placed me on hold for long lengths of time, asked me to email things to them after phone conversations (to make it “official”) and then proceeded to ignore the emails. When time was of the essence, after one leg of the journey had to be changed, they were slow to respond, and didn’t understand the importance of booking a replacement as soon as possible. When I did speak to a customer service representative, they (most of the time) had the bare minimum of English to get by. I have no problem with non-native English speakers working for them, but they need to be be comprehensible at least, and to be able to understand me.
    The last straw was after they had agreed to refund me (with the 6 week delay, ugh) and I had already found an alternative flight online (for just a little more than the original): they had the nerve to call me back, saying that they had researched my situation and found that I wouldn’t even be able to book the first leg of our journey elsewhere for less than the *total* cost we had paid, so of course it would be in our interest to keep the first leg of the journey with them (for the *full* price) and perhaps book the 2nd leg only elsewhere. Basically they lied in order to persuade me to pay the total cost of the journey for exactly half of the journey instead. What an absolute disgrace.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  28. Naganna Poster says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Beware of airfare.com. They qouted a very low fare to Mumbai from Baltimore and could not confirm any tickets. I was lucky to cancel the reservation..

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  29. Susita Q says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Ode to airfare dot com
    Let me tell you the story of Jay and of Sue
    Who went on vacation in Lima, Peru
    The clerk at the desk at airline Jet-Blue
    Checked our papers, a problem, there was nothing to do
    We had to pass through Washington, DC
    If Machu Picchu and Cuzco we wanted to see
    So out of our wallet our VISA did pop
    It would take more than this to make our trip stop
    The new clerk in DC took 40 minutes to solve
    Another problem with our tickets, thanks for your resolve
    DC to Bogata, the flight was just great
    Until we boarded for Lima and got stopped at the gate
    A new problem, oh boy, again with our quest
    A new agent fixed this one, man she’s the best
    Our journey was fine for the rest of our stay
    Fine, that is, until our very last day
    At the airport in Lima at 3:30 a.m.
    Trouble with our tickets struck us again
    Still another gate agent our problems did fix
    With 40 minutes and patience and a big bag of tricks
    The moral of my story I am going to tell it
    Have patience with me, I’ll try not to yell it
    When traveling to Lima, always stay calm
    And never get your tickets from airfaredotcom.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +23 (from 23 votes)
  30. airfare.com is a scam says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    This has been one of the most disgusting and frustrating experiences I have ever had with a travel agency. I’ve been trying to reschedule two international tickets with $350 per ticket change fees and different airfare change quotes every 10 minutes. I can’t believe an organization is allowed to operate this way. Pathetic.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  31. greekfile says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com has HORRID customer service, trying to get a refund on a canceled flight is impossible. A total scam.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  32. beware!!!! says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    We got our tickets from airfare.com thinking what a great deal.. we paid $2000 for the tickets.. airline (LUFTANSA) cancelled our reservation.. and now we don’t know who is giving us a refund.. i keep getting transferred by the airline and airfare.com back and forth.. we are not getting any refund either from the airline or airfare.com..
    i am not sure what to do?..

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  33. PB says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com is the worst online travel booking company I have ever used. Avoid doing business with them. Customer service is rude, and company phone representatives gave me conflicting information.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  34. Sanja says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Be aware – Do not buy tickets from Airfare.com! Their customer service is basically non-existent, you will spend hours and will not be able to do anything about the tickets that you bought. After hours of waiting, they will tell you that you cannot do absolutely anything with those cheap tickets and you’re stuck. They book you on non-connecting flights (where you need to get your luggage out at every stop-over) with not enough time to reconnect, they book flights (on the same ticket) without telling you that one of the flights is ariving on one and leaving from a different airport, etc.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  35. Evan H says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com has absolutely HORRID customer service, they refuse to answer your questions, give Zero refunds, and ARE VERY POORLY STAFFED! I lost over $990 as a result of using Airfare.com, spent over 47 HOURS on the phone waiting for Someone there to “help” me with my problem – to no avail. I had to buy my Own tickets Directly from the airline in question, Airfare.com is a horrid scam!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  36. Victoria says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I have the same experience with Airfare.com.
    Our flight was cancelled. The airline company offered us to fly in a 10 days or in a month. It was not convenient for us ..so Airline company told us: from our side your ticket is open, you have to call Airfare.com (because you bought tickets from them, they took your money) and they suppose to give you a voucher for it.
    Nightmare starts!!!!!
    Airfare.com NEVER responded on any emails.
    All my calls to Airfare.com NEVER responded or people from customer service were RUDE.
    2 weeks of nightmare and I feel that I’ll lose $2000…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  37. Sam Mozingo says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I am hold with Airfare.com as I type. Booked ticket 1/18 for departure to Australia 1/24. (Currently, it is very late the night before I depart). I was confirmed a few days ago on Airline (UA) flights I booked. When I went to online book my reservations were not found. Called airline and was told my reservation was canceled. Called Airfare.com and momentarily thought all was well and right. As I immediately went to check in I realized flights changed and I saw my new flight allowed 30 minute layover for upcoming 15 hour flight…those flights do not leave any hour. After 2 hours of back and forth..remember…I’m on hold NOW, I am offered my original flights for $300 more. Basically, my tickets were hijacked. I’m still not confident I’m going even going to Australia. At least my husband and I can skype

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  38. Marcello P. says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    On Dec 27th, 2010 I purchased a ticket that according to the airfare.com was “highly discounted” . A week later the SAME itinerary on the SAME website was about US$200 less. I tried to contact them, but got no response from emails sent. All that I wanted was an adjustement on the price. I’d still give them my business,I just wanted the lower price that everyone else is getting . Well, if they do not want to help me , I will never purchase anything from airfare.com again, and hopefully others will learn from my experience.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  39. jeff says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    Unfortunately (for my wife and myself) we had to cancel last minute our recent flight booked thru airfare.com… when doing so the agent seemed helpful and sent a change form for us…that’s where the help stopped. many-many phone calls, emails, and attempts failed. Finally last week a ray of hope with an agent saying that my change request form would be/was being processed and that i would hear back within a week (a week?? yes, that is standard… okaaaayy???)
    A week has gone by…I just got thru to someone after have emails and phone calls bounce back at me for either full email acct or disconnected phone calls.
    NOW the agent tells me that I must contact the airline directly because my tickets have been “suspended”. When I tried to questoon why…I was blamed and then I got a dial tone…obviously I had been hung up on…
    With a crazy $350.00 change fee for Mexico flights…or for anywhere for that matter…please steer clear of airfare.com. I am very forgiving on most all matters but this one was just ludicrous.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  40. Mike says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    We have tried 2 times to book our Cancun airfare from Airfare.com and both times it was kicked back. Here is their response:
    Dear Traveler,
    The airline is unable to confirm your reservation at this moment.

    They still tried to charge my credit card so I had to call them and deny their attempts.

    Not happy!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  41. brazzy says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    As stated in other reviews, I would be dubious of airfare.com.

    Unless you are a single traveler and are 100% sure that you will not need to change or cancel your flight, you would be better off paying extra through the airlines directly-even if you are travelling alone, if you value any type of customer service standards than avoid airfare.com outright.

    I wanted to make a change to a ticket booked from the US to Brazil. I already had an idea of what my new itinerary would be and gave over 3 months notice. I followed airfare.com’s “change request” process and they never contacted me.I followed up and then they claimed that their manager tried to call, verified my number and then implied that I was to blame when I know for sure that they did not call me as my phone records all incoming calls. (They also could’ve emailed/left a voice msg.)

    When I tried to reinitiate the process a few weeks later they sent me a stupid form email (with a very poorly written explanation in English) about how there were no available seats for my desired itinerary. Once again, I gave airfare.com over 3 months notice and also a window of 3 weeks flexibility of a departure date and they could not find anything?

    I ended up having to cancel my original flight at a fee of $450!! Luckily I at least recieved a refund for the original fare but this was after repeated phone calls, waiting on hold an average of 15 min. to speak with someone over a poor connection with a poor command of the English language. Not to mention the numerous times that I was hung up on.

    Know what your needs are before booking. If you are “low maitenance” and don’t need any special service than maybe these guys would work. Otherwise, steer clear of airfare.com and book with the airline directly or a local travel agent.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  42. Henry says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I would steer clear of Airfare.com. If you search on google, you will find that a lot of people haven’t had very good experiences buying airfare through them. Definitely a red flag.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  43. Cynta Ehrlich says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com is a scam. They charged me for a paper ticket but then told me for my “convenience” they switched it to an e-ticket at no cost. I repeatedly attempted to get them to send a paper ticket to me because that’s even what my flight confirmation said at the bottom, “paper ticket,” but did not hear anything back from them after several attempts to get in contact with them through phone and email correspondence. Of course, when I arrived at the airport (for a flight that was changed to an earlier time in the day without informing me), the counter staff person wanted to know where my paper ticket was, and was not going to permit me to board the flight. I had to wait at the counter for more than 40 minutes until finally, to my relief, the person returned with permission. I disputed the $32 charge for the paper ticket through my credit card and am waiting to hear back on the result. It was very nerve-wracking to be stuck in the extremely crowded and busy airport fearing that I was going to have to purchase another ticket. The miniscule difference in savings is not worth the aggravation, and the paper ticket fee is bogus if airfare.com doesn’t actually send the ticket! Avoid airfare.com!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  44. tekeli says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I filled a request to ticket / date change on Airfare.com by accepting $350.00 cost and called them as they told me before and they told me that after they check they will call me but as they told me they don’t have ticket available. However, I see tickets now online, and even sent them a link, but they are making me wait for ticket prices to go up before new year, and I will accept other dates because according to their rule if the new ticket is cheaper than previous one, they don’t pay back the difference. They want me to fly after new year. Normally I never complain about companies, this is the first and I am sure Airfare.com is the worst company ever. No guest service at all, they make you wait hours and then “we will call you”, hang up and no call!!
    Damage Resulting = $785 + $350 + ?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  45. tekeli says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I ordered a round-trip ticket on Airfare.com from Springfield, MO USA (SGF) to Istanbul, Turkey (IST) on 12/15/10. The departure was for 12/29/10 and the return flight was for 3/16/11. After reviewing the confirmation email (while I’m buying other tickets to my friends from my credit card , i thought that the company has good deals and told my friends about it), I discovered that the date of departure is not what i ordered, it was 01/29/11 instead of 12/29/10. If the change was for couple days ago or couple days later, it would not be a problem however 1 month later which the date i never been interested is not good for me at all. I tried to reach Airfare.com customer service many times by phone and email prior to my departure, the customer service did not allow the issue to be resolved until now.(Of course they were rude and even told me that “it is your problem!!” I paid $785 for this ticket. Since I don’t have a long time to solve this problem i probably will buy another ticket and my money is gonna be trashed!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  46. Andrew says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    I booked a trip to China on Continental with Airfare.com because they had the absolute lowest price I could find. I got really nervous after booking the ticket when I saw people’s horror stories on review sites. Thankfully, everything went great. I was able to choose my seats and meals on Continental.com and the flight earned me 100% mileage. Normally, continental.com always has the best price for Continental flights but I saved about $50 with airfare.com.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -3 (from 5 votes)
  47. JJ Garcia says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Airfare.com! HORRIBLE! I was charged the incorrect ammount TWICE. I have nothing against outsourcing call centers to foreign countries but when you want to speak to someone fluently during a stressful situation, you might see why debating pronunciation could get even more stressful. Regardless, this mistake on their behalf was painful, i now how to deal with overdraft fees as well as loosing time fixing this issue.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  48. greg says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.7/5 (3 votes cast)

    I just booked an overseas round trip with Airfare.com. Their price was $500 lower than the nearest. I called them about a question of seat selection and was treated with curtesy.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -7 (from 11 votes)
  49. Thisistheworstcompanyever says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

    Do not ever use Airfare.com. I am leaving for Ethiopia in 6 days, and booked my original flight 2 months ago. I have been calling Airfare.com daily for 2 weeks after they changed my itinerary without consulting me, resulting in a 3 day trip one way with 2 overnight layovers (I kid you not). They revised the itinerary again, but for some reason have been unable to book the flight, despite my perpetual calling. Airfare.com has had ME call the airline on their behalf TWICE (like I am getting paid hourly for this? that’s their job), and the airline insists that it is up to airfare.com to change the flight, which I believe. To top it off, one of the Airfare.com agents told me after I explained the situation, “since you are not listening to me, I will transfer you to someone else, who will tell you the exact same thing I just told you, but maybe you will listen to them”, and then put me on hold…this is after weeks of incompetence! Oh, and they have told me about 6 times that another agent is on the line with the airline and will call me back, but they NEVER call back. Infuriating. Terrible customer service, terrible experience with Airfare.com.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +7 (from 7 votes)
  50. AD says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)

    For the third time, I am on perpetual hold with Airfare.com. Air Canada cancelled the return flight I booked through them and changed the flight to a ridiculous flight. Visualize “Peggy” watching all the pretty lights blinking on the phones in the call center for airfare.com somewhere in outer mongolia. Do yourself a favor and pay more by dealing directly with the airline.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
  51. cc benedict says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (3 votes cast)

    Terrific experience! Used Airfare.com for Air Canada round trip to Montreal. They were cheaper even than Air Canada. After seeing so many horrid reviews I panicked as I’d already booked. Nevertheless, I found Airfare.com totally non-scary to deal with. I had a question & tried to call but kept getting biz signal, so I sent email. Someone named Joseph called me back within 10 minutes. He was polite, very accommodating – even reserved seats for me; everything regarding the flights went perfectly. I don’t yet know what this service fee is on my credit card, but everything adds up to what Airfare.com said would be the total.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 6 votes)
  52. Andy says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Decent prices, but I agree with some of the other reviewers, the telephone service if you have a question is terrible! I waited not once but twice on the phone for almost half an hour to get the answer to a simple question. Both times they disconnected me before I could say hello! Too bad for them. I was calling to book my entire family to Hong Kong. Eat your heart out, Airfare.com!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  53. ihateairfarecom says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Beware of booking flights on Airfare.com. They may have great deals, but they offer no service and continuously give you the runaround with no straightforward answers.

    Before booking on Airfare.com, I checked out many online review sites to see if this company was legit. I’m always very wary of booking big trips on sites I have never heard of. The reviews were more on the negative side, but a few were positive. I decided to go through with my booking and now I realize it was a huge mistake. When you call the numbers they have available, you can’t reach anyone in their actual office – not even during office hours! At one point I reached an India call center, another point I reached a European call center. They have no solid rules/ regulations for what you can do with your flight. I called to just understand my options – not even to ask for a refund and they still couldn’t give me a straight answer to the easy questions I had. I simply asked the following:

    1) What is the cost for cancellation?
    2) Is it possible to make changes to this flight?
    3) What are you doing for flights going into Bangkok if the political situation worsens?

    I am furious with this companies lack of service and lack of firm rules/ regulations. I will never ever go through them to book a ticket ever again – even if the flight is half the price. This is the worst airline booking company I have ever done business with.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +11 (from 13 votes)

Speak Your Mind

*


*

CHECK HERE! To subscribe to the Travel Site Critic email newsletter, full of travel coupon codes and deals!

Copyright © 2008-2014 - All Rights Reserved © TravelSiteCritic.com - Travel Site Critic | Travel Website Reviews, Ratings and Deals

Top 10 Travel Sites | Travel Website Reviews |  Travel Website DealsTravel Deal Newsletter | Travel Deal Widget for your Website | About usFAQ | Reviews Disclosure | Privacy Policy

* TravelSiteCritic.com does not sell travel and is not a travel agency, we simply promote travel deals and provide you with reviews of and links to 3rd Party Travel Agency Websites (aka. Advertisers). Information about fees and prices on this website come from 3rd Party Travel Agency Websites, and does not include baggage fees and may not include applicable taxes, charges, fees, and government imposed fees. TravelSiteCritic.com is a marketing affiliate of many of the 3rd party travel companies (aka. Advertisers) that we review and/or place links to. Simply put, we may earn commissions for marketing their products and services. Most of the outgoing links on this website are termed “affiliate advertising links.” This means, if you click on the link and complete a purchase, TravelSiteCritic.com may receive a commission from the Advertiser. See our Reviews Disclosure for more information.