Hotels.com Reviews

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Click Star to Rate This Site:
Rating: 2.8/5 (19 votes cast)


  • Hotels.com has more than 70,000 properties worldwide from hotels, to bed-and-breakfasts, to condos, to all-inclusive resorts.
  • Easily find discount hotels in hundreds of popular locations, such as Miami Beach in Florida, Disneyland, and Las Vegas.
  • Hotel reviews written by travelers.
  • Groups Department:  Offers personal service for when you need 9 or more rooms for your next big event or party.
  • Flexible Booking: No fees for cancellations or changes*.
  • Price Match Guarantee*.
  • “Interests” page:  Search for the best hotels to suit your interests, such as “beach”, “Casino”, or “Romance”.

Our Editor’s Review:

Hotels.com has a great search engine if you have a large family of 5 or more. We think it can be a real pain to find appropriate hotels when you are traveling with a big family, but Hotels.com easily allows you to search for hotels that will accomodate everyone (2-3 bedroom suites and condo’s). Other travel agency websites such as Orbitz do not make it this easy. Let’s say you are a family of 6 traveling to Florida, and looking for discount hotels. You enter in “2 adults” and “4 children” in the search boxes. Many other websites will haphazardly pull up every available hotel in your destination, even those that do not have large enough rooms (maximum capacity of 4). Then you need to weed out all the hotels that don’t fit your family of 6. That can take a lot of time. With Hotels.com, you can search ONLY for those hotels with rooms that will actually accommodate your family, and it is so much easier! (Tip: Always verify directly with the hotel that they can accommodate your family before finalizing your booking). We also love the Hotels.com Groups Department. If you are planning a destination wedding, this is the place to find your hotel. On the downside, there are not enough hotel reviews. On Hotels.com, we expected more hotel reviews.

Hotels.com Fees & Policies*:

There is a variable “service fee, as stated by Hotels.com: “We retain our service fees as compensation in servicing your travel reservation. Our service fees vary based on the amount and type of hotel reservation”. $0 charge by Hotels.com to cancel or change a hotel booking! (Unless it is a group booking of 9 or more rooms). Although, the hotel itself may not allow cancellations or may charge you a cancellation fee, and Hotels.com must pass this charge onto you, if applicable. Check the hotel’s cancellation policy when you book on Hotels.com “on the Room and Rates Tab of the individual property“. Refunds can take up to 30 days.

*Based solely on research done by TravelSiteCritic.com. May be inaccurate, or subject to change.

Hotels.com Coupon Codes and Deals:

hotels.com Cashback Rebate!

Hotels.com Customer Reviews:

Have you used Hotels.com and have an experience to share? We want to hear it! Add your own review of Hotels.com in the customer comment box below. All customer reviews and comments are moderated by a human being and will be posted LIVE on TravelSiteCritic.com as soon as they have been reviewed by a moderation team member. Thank you for contributing to our great community!

Hotels.com Customer Ratings:

Cast your vote for the Best Rated Travel Sites by clicking one of the dynamic rating stars for Hotels.com below, or on any of our travel website reviews. Cast a vote of 1-star, 5-star, or anything in between. A user rating of 1-star indicates you had a horrible experience (its the lowest you can go and brings down the total rating), while a user rating of 5-stars indicates you had the best experience. The travel websites with the most 5-star votes end up on our Top 10 List.

___________________________________________________________________
Thanks for reading our Hotels.com website review. Please read our reviews disclosure.
Write Your Review!
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Click Star to Rate This Site:
Rating: 2.8/5 (19 votes cast)
Hotels.com Reviews, 2.8 out of 5 based on 19 ratings

Comments

  1. VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    Never use hotels.com they are a scam! They over charged us more than the hotel would have charged for the night. and the customer service was terrible. an american books your hotel and someone from another country with broken english deals with you when you have a complaint. and they will do nothing but offer you 25 dollars and coupons for future stays.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Unsatisfied Customer says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    I booked a flight through hotels.com. 2 weeks later, I received an email notification from hotels.com. There were some problems – supposedly the airline made changes. The representative checked, and there were no other flights going out that day. By the way, this wasn’t a last minute booking – I booked in January for a flight in July!! The total cost of the trip was nearly $1000.

    The hotels.com representative had me on the line for a very long time – and told me that there was no guarantee – there’s nothing I could do. They don’t do refunds. “Risk Free Policy” – this is so misleading. I kicked myself for not just going directly to the airline to book my flight instead. At least contacting the airline directly myself would have yielded faster results – and since they supposedly made these changes – they would work something out.

    My issue has yet to be resolved. I’m highly disappointed and would not recommend using hotels.com.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Tickd Off says:
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    These people are completely useless…

    I’ve been a repeat customer with Hotels.com for awhile now. I’ve always used Hotels.com, because I figured if I need someone to back me up in a case where something goes wrong with the hotel transaction, then Hotels.com would be there….WRONG!!!

    I went to check into a hotel the other day, only an hour booking through Hotels.com. I had a problem with the hotel & they wouldn’t give me a room NOR my money back! (from reading reviews, I found out that this hotel is really some crazy cultish retreat that advertises itself as a hotel…sort of like the Hotel California, I guess. lol). Either way, Hotels.com was so full of BS when I called them & said there was NOTHING they could do. They wouldn’t even let me talk to their manager!

    I found out that Hotels.com’s prices are actually a $1 higher than if you just call the hotel to begin with & ask for any type of discount….sometimes, the hotels are cheaper than Hotels.com with NO discount

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  4. VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)

    The website is easy to use, but that is where the good review ends!!! Hotels.com should be avoided at all costs! First the Credit Card they use to book our room gets DECLINED! What kind of company is this that they try and book MY room with a DECLINED credit card? Because of this, my credit card gets doubled charged! One to the hotel I stayed at and one to Hotels.com! Next, I try to call Hotels.com to sort this problem out… But I live in the USA and the company is not even based in the US!!! How am I supposed to sort out a problem, when it is hard for customer service to communicate with me?!?

    Finally, when trying to get recipricated for all the crap I have to go through, they say they will send me a $40 voucher in 4-5 weeks… What? Almost an hour on the phone and I’m not even going to see a free stay!?!

    I would not recommend Hotels.com to anyone trying to book a room…

    0 out of 5 stars!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)

Speak Your Mind

*

*

Copyright © 2008-2016 - All Rights Reserved © TravelSiteCritic.com - Travel Site Critic | Travel Website Reviews, Ratings and Deals

Top 10 Travel Sites | Travel Website Reviews |  Travel Website DealsTravel Deal Widget for your Website | About usFAQ | Reviews Disclosure | Privacy Policy

* TravelSiteCritic.com does not sell travel and is not a travel agency, we simply promote travel deals and provide you with reviews of and links to 3rd Party Travel Agency Websites (aka. Advertisers). Information about fees and prices on this website come from 3rd Party Travel Agency Websites, and does not include baggage fees and may not include applicable taxes, charges, fees, and government imposed fees. TravelSiteCritic.com is a marketing affiliate of many of the 3rd party travel companies (aka. Advertisers) that we review and/or place links to. Simply put, we may earn commissions for marketing their products and services. Most of the outgoing links on this website are termed “affiliate advertising links.” This means, if you click on the link and complete a purchase, TravelSiteCritic.com may receive a commission from the Advertiser. See our Reviews Disclosure for more information.